Top Ten Most Beautiful Waterfalls

Remember that post I planned on writing about waterfalls as a follow-up to this one?

Remember how it hasn’t happened?

Well here it is! My top 10 favorite waterfalls, seen and unseen (by me, hopefully you’ve gotten to one).

  1. Multnomah Falls

    multnomah

  • Location: Portland, OR

  • Why:My handsome husband proposed to me here.

  • Status: Seen

Photo by Jim Dollar.

2. Ipsut Falls

(I don’t have a good photo of it, sorry!)

  • Mt. Rainier, WA; near Ipsut Creek Campground

  • Why: It has this huge rock at the bottom that the water runs over into a very calm pool. It’s very secluded in the backwoods of Mt. Rainier, difficult to get to now since the roads were damaged in the 2006 flood.

  • Status: Seen

3. Semuc Champey

semuc champey

  • Location: Coban, Guatemala

  • Why: The water is so clear and blue! I swam in the little pools, they were so refreshing. It was a long trek down a dusty, one lane road, with numerous sharp turns and dropoffs…but so worth it.

  • Status: Seen

  • Note: This waterfall deserves it’s own post about the adventure, keep a look out!

Photo by Julien Lagarde.

4. Plitvice Lakes National Park

  1. Plitvice Waterfalls

  • Location: Croatia

  • Why: This is as close to Rivendell as anyone could ever get. Just look at it! It’s surreal! I know I used a huge picture of it, but this is my number one favorite waterfall, at least on the to-see list.

  • Status: Unseen, sadly.

Photo by Jack Brauer, amazing photographer!

5. Clear Creek Falls

(Can’t find a picture of this one, sorry folks!)

  • Location: Yakima County, WA
  • Why: I think the standing rocks at the bottom really appeal to me, they seem so unique.

  • Status: Seen, but I have no real recollection of it, I was but a wee lass.

6. Pools of Oheo

oheo

  • Location: Hawaii

  • Why: I really have a thing for stairstep waterfalls as you can see…

  • Status: Unseen

Photo by Gypsy and The Fool.

7. Hraunfossar

Hraunfossar

  • Location: Iceland

  • Why: It’s so wide and blue! Agh, it’s so pretty it hurts. It’s just so magical! It’s actually this really long cliff sort of thing with little waterfalls all over it, google it!

  • Status: Unseen

Photo by jónr.

8. Dynjandi (Fjallfoss)

First a picture of it that I just love…

d

Photo by dibaer.

And now for the bigger picture…

d2

  • Location: Iceland

  • Why: It combines stairstep waterfall with water sliding over smooth rocks, two of my favorite characteristics. I’m not sure if you can tell, but this waterfall is really big, that is quite the tall cliff it is falling over.

  • Status: Unseen

Photo by inthenose.

9. Thi Lo Su

thi lo su

  • Location: Thailand

  • Why: I love waterfalls that make me feel like I’m in Rivendell if you can’t tell…(shameless rhyme). There are a lot of amazing waterfalls that I easily could put on this list from Thailand.

  • Status: Unseen

Photo by yxejamir.

10. Shiraito

shiraito

  • Location: Japan

  • Why: The color of the pool is what really catches me on this one. Or maybe the color of the foliage, either way it’s amazing.

  • Status: Unseen

Photo by Zengame.

Ok, so I said it was a top 10 list but it’s really impossible for me to narrow it down to 10. I would have included every waterfall on the Asia top ten list alone.

Waterfalls are magnificent, beautiful creations that are such a blessing. I praise the Lord for every single one. Amazing! I think I may have to do a second Top 10 Waterfalls…like a Top 20 but split.

What’s you’re favorite waterfall of the ones above? Not listed?

Stay tuned for the tale of Semuc Champey!

*I take no credit for any photos in this post, their sources are listed above.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Beautiful Waterfalls

  1. Slava says:

    This is just beautiful, thanks. I really enjoy water in general and especially waterfalls.. Those are some of the best I’ve ever seen. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Two thumbs up for Ipsut Falls and Multnomah Falls. The entire chain of waterfalls along the Columbia Gorge near Multnomah are all worth visiting, and it makes a great afternoon visiting them all.

    That said, Palouse Falls in Eastern Washington is a personal favorite for the region, I’d highly recommend everyone visit there at some point.

  3. Oh! Almost forgot to mention Snoqualmie Falls a little bit East of Seattle. Great day trip from Seattle, and an “easy win” when it comes to visiting waterfalls here in the Northwest.

Share your Reply

