The Best Icing Recipe Ever

Actually the best icing recipe is yet to come, I’ll reveal that secret later. But I’ll tell you that it includes chocolate, a lot of chocolate.

Oh and sorry lovelies, the whole milk vs. 2%-fat free will have to wait. I’m so torn!

Alright, this icing recipe (do you say icing or frosting?) is a classic. It was a family favorite growing up. My mouth waters just thinking about it…

[print_this]Caramel Icing

1/2c margarine
1c packed brown sugar
1/4c milk

About 2 1/2c powdered sugar

1. Melt margarine, add brown sugar.
2. Boil over low heat 2 min. stirring
constantly.
3. Add milk. Keep stirring until
it boils again.
4. Remove from heat and let cool.
5. Add powdered sugar gradually beating
after each addition until correct
consistency.

Now I should warn you, whenever I frost a two layer cake with this it tends to…slide. I haven’t taken the time to figure out how to fix it yet, but at least make sure your cake is completely cool before frosting.[/print_this]

The picture of the cake above is from my birthday this year, beginning of August. The actual cake was a yellow rum cake. Imagine, rum cake with caramel icing. It’s as tasty as it sounds my friends. In fact I’m tempted to make one, my husband’s birthday is coming up…

Caramel Icing on Foodista

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “The Best Icing Recipe Ever

  1. eatingmachine says:

    mm i've never made caramel icing, but that sounds yummy!

  2. Carrie says:

    Oh it's so delicious, of course I encourage you to try it. 🙂

  3. Yummm…this stimulates my creative juices in many ways, thanks for sharing.
    chocolate

Share your Reply

