Review: The Asus EEE PC 1000HA Netbook

Does your laptop give you back pain from lugging it around? Do you wish you could fit  your laptop in your purse? Unless you have a very large purse or backpack, but the problem of those extra pounds weighing on your shoulders doesn’t cheer anyone up.

Enter netbook. Oh so small, oh so light, oh so much better than my 4+ year old Dell Inspiron. Yes my old Dell, you served me well. You were a great computer, but you grew to be slow and ran out of space over the years. Yes, I replaced you with a younger, sexier laptop.

My brother gave me a new netbook, the EEE PC 1000HA a few months ago as a combined wedding/birthday gift. And let me tell you, it’s gorgeous. It’s white (people mistake it for an Apple all the time), has a 10 inch screen, and weighs in just under 3 pounds. And it fits in my small purse, not a bag, a purse!

Time for a list!

Stats:

  • 1.6GHz Atom processor
  • 1 GB Ram (I upgraded to 2GB)
  • 10 inch screen
  • 160 GB Hard drive
  • 6-cell battery (Boasts 7hrs but with internet on and a dimmed screen I get 4-5 hours, perfect for college students)
  • Built in webcam
  • Priced between $300-400
  • Windows XP

Keyboard: For the record, I have small hands, so the keys being slightly smaller doesn’t bother me. It’s really only a few percent smaller and you get used to it really quickly. In some reviews people have complained about the placement of the right shift key and function key. I use only the left side for both keys so I don’t know if it’s annoying, though from most reviews it seems to be a minor inconvenience.

Mouse Keys: The other con is the mouse keys. They are too stiff. You get used to it, but it is constantly annoying, though I have a little travel mouse that I use since I’ve never been a fan of laptop pads. Though this one has the two finger scroll, which I like.

Screen: The screen is great, smaller than the average notebook of course, but it’s rare that I need to switch the resolution (a quick Function+F4). I haven’t run into a single website I couldn’t view easily.

Speed: This netbook is just as speedy as any average notebook, faster than my old computer even in its prime.

Bottomline: The Asus EEE PC line is great, and they pretty much only get better with each one they put out. Asus practically invented the market for netbooks and they’re doing a pretty good job of keeping it. If you want to learn more, there are hundreds of reviews at Amazon (I wouldn’t reccommend buying one there though, cheaper elsewhere) for the 1000HA here. I suggest you read a few, I am only providing you with a short review on what I found to be important pros and cons about the computer, save for the placement of the right shift/function keys.

A few last thoughts…

I am a complete netbook advocate. They suit my needs of web browsing and word processing perfectly, if you are a Photoshop wizard or a gamer then these are not for you. Though they aren’t too shabby running full-screen games, movies, or bigger programs like Photoshop. My suggestions are to maybe upgrade with a better video card (I have no problems really though), 2GB Ram, and an external mouse. These are personal preferences really, you will be nearly just as happy without them. Let me know if you have a later version of the EEE PC, I’d love to hear how they are turning out!

*This review was completely independent and I received no compensation for it.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Review: The Asus EEE PC 1000HA Netbook

  1. Thank you so much for this review! I’ve been wanting to get a netbook for a while but didn’t know much about them. I’m saving my money and this brand sounds great! (Found you from the Fitnessista, BTW.) Ü

Share your Reply

