How to Make Your Own Chicken Stock

I never buy chicken stock. Ever. It’s just way too easy to make it yourself.

Now I’m not picky about my stock, connoisseurs could definitely tell this wasn’t properly made stock. But my stock mostly ends up in a big pot of delicious stew and I don’t notice much a difference. And really, this is the easiest recipe to make.

Besides, homemade stock has no preservatives in it and is fresh. Not to mention much cheaper.

[print_this]Chicken Stock

1. Place chicken carcass, bones, and skin in a stock pot and cover with cold water.

2. Add salt, pepper, carrots, onions, celery or any other vegetables on hand. I sometimes freeze my leftover vegetable bits (carrot ends, corn cobs, etc.) in a bag in the freezer and bring it out when I’m making stock.

3. Boil, then bring to a low simmer for around 4 hours. I usually put this all in a crock pot on low for 12 hours instead of taking up the stove for that long.

4. Cool and remove the fat that may have risen to the surface. Strain through cheesecloth or a sieve. It will keep in the fridge for 2-3 days, but it freezes very well. I freeze some in an ice cube tray for smaller recipes and the rest I freeze in 2 cup increments in ziploc bags (make sure you write the amount and date on it, a couple months down the road that chicken stock turns into a mystery item in the freezer).[/print_this]

Delicioso!

*Photo from Elana’s Pantry.

Tagged ,

One thought on “How to Make Your Own Chicken Stock

  1. […] Spinach and Feta Lasagna Tuesday: Risotto with Caramelized Onions and Chicken (made w/hm stock) Wednesday: Chicken Satay (Daring Kitchen challenge) Thursday: Broccoli Stir Fry Friday: Leftovers […]

Share your Reply

