Recipe: Black Bean Brownies

This is a keeper of a recipe. Despite the not great photo, it really is delicious. They are fudgey, rich, perfect brownies. Did I mention gluten-free? Don’t forget the extra fiber if that’s something you’re in to.

Really, black beans and sweet flavors are meant for each other. In Guatemala I was served Rellenitos de Platano which is like mashed plantains molded around pureed black beans mixed with a little sugar with the whole thing plopped in a deep fryer. It’s one of my most favorite Guatemalan desserts. That and just pure, fried plantains. Mmmm. For the Rellenitos de Platano recipe scroll down and click on the Foodista link.

But what you really want is the black bean brownie recipe, isn’t it? I thought you’d never ask. But a few more things first, just tips really. I suggest coming back to them after you see the recipe. It’s like in college when the professors told you to read the chapter before class and then go back and review it after lecture…which I hope you’ll do now even if you didn’t then.

1. Do not, I repeat, do NOT forget to rinse the beans extremely well if you used canned beans. You want as little extra sodium and bean flavor as possible.

2. These are better spread thinner than regular brownies. Think fudge.

3. I also prefer these stored in the fridge, they hold their shape better.

4. Don’t try using a blender for the beans and walnuts together. It really doesn’t work. A food processor is your friend here. If you don’t have one then use a coffee grinder for the walnuts, a blender for the beans and chocolate, then mix them by hand in a bowl.

5. I used just regular ground coffee instead of the natural coffee substitute.

6. I also don’t use a whole stick of butter, I probably only used about half.

The recipe is really quite simple. At least by my standards. I cranked them out in under 30 minutes.

Ok, enough is enough. The recipe can be found at 101 Cookbooks! I wish I could reprint it, but I don’t have proper permissions. The recipe is originally from Baking With Agave Nectar: Over 100 Recipes Using Nature’s Ultimate Sweetener by Ania Catalano. (Ten Speed Press 2008)

This post is linked to Slightly Indulgent Mondays at Simply Sugar and Gluten Free and to Chocolate Fridays at Stop and Smell the Chocolates!

The rellenitos recipe can be found through the below link. Happy baking!

Plantain Rellenitos on Foodista

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Recipe: Black Bean Brownies

  1. SnoWhite says:

    I love black bean brownies 🙂

  2. I was so glad to see that you linked up to Slightly Indulgent Mondays this week. I make black bean brownies, too, and I think they’re fabulous. I have seen the recipe at 101 Cookbooks – I use a over-ripe banana and less agave than her version.

    Sure hope you’ll come back next week.

    • Carrie says:

      Oh I’ll come back next week, I’ve got a lot of recipes to share. I’ll try the over ripe banana next time, I did find them a tad too sweet. Thank you!

  3. These do sound so interesting! I’m going to be brave and try them one of these days and not tell my family what’s in them! Thanks for linking up!

    • Carrie says:

      I had put off making them for a long time! I really suggest trying them, everyone that tried them liked them. They’re just such a yummy texture and deep, rich flavor!

      P.S. If you make them, let me know people’s reactions. It’s the best part!

  4. […] Alea @ Premeditated Leftovers (meatballs)4. Kitchen Stewardship (Homemade Hamburger Helper)5. Carrie @ A Chocolate Covered To-Do List (Black Bean Brownies)6. Kim, The Food Allergy Coach (Teff Chocolate Pudding)7. Kari @ Eating Simply – Warm and […]

Share your Reply

