Healthy Potato Chip Substitute

Photo by thebittenword.com

If you’re anything like me you like potato chips. The crunch of flavor is just, well, delightful! Especially the thicker more “natural” kind. But since they aren’t really at the top the list nutrition-wise, they are near the top of the snacking list.

Thus, a substitute was necessary. I needed something that fulfilled the crunchy aspect and salty flavor. And the glorious internet gave me kale chips. They went viral awhile ago, but I still just think they are the coolest thing.

Kale Chips

All you do is tear off the leafy part of the kale leaf. I don’t recommend using the stem as it tastes bitter and tough when baked, in my experience. Then put them in a bowl, mix ’em up with a little vinegar (I use rice vinegar, but I imagine you could use others just fine) with a little salt or sprinkle them with nutritional flakes. You could season them with anything really, those are just the two I do. Spread on a baking sheet and bake at 375 F from 8-15 minutes. Then I eat them with ketchup. De-lish!

The Fitnessista dehydrates her chips, but I lack a dehydrator and the patience…but someday. If you have one I’d suggest trying it, it would have a much higher nutritional value.

It’s 9pm but that might not stop me from going to make some right now, mmm. Taste the crunch!

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Healthy Potato Chip Substitute

  1. Desiree says:

    I’ve been meaning to try this for awhile and kale is on sale (ha, rhyme queen) at my market this week. I think it’s telling me I should make these.

  2. Carrie says:

    Oh I definitely recommend it, google it and you’ll find tons of suggestions out there for seasoning ideas. I hope you like them, have fun!

  3. […] ever made! My husband is a serious fan. The caramelized onion just adds that certain pizazz and the kale chips on top give a very satisfying crunchiness to the whole […]

Share your Reply

