Most Delicious Pork Marinade

Photo by avlxyz

I stopped by the store today to grab some milk and protein for tonight’s dinner. My protein of choice was some thin-sliced pork top loin, I rarely buy pork, but I just wanted it today for some reason. Usually the only pork I ever buy is bacon, but even that is rare. Maybe I should try chocolate covered bacon? I don’t know about you, but it really does sound gross to me…though I’m sure the husband would like it.

Anyway, I usually create my own marinades, I learned awhile ago about the best spices and flavors for which meats and so forth. But sometimes I just put the meat in a bag with some smooshed garlic and random spices–it always comes out pretty tasty.

Today was no exception. An hour before dinner I mixed up a marinade, soaked the pork in it for the hour while I made some garlic bread and cooked an artichoke. When dinner was served my husband was enthusiastic (really!) about the pork. It really was delicious, I’m glad I made bread so we had something to soak up every bit. It was just perfect with the maple syrup and garlic especially.

So what else was in the marinade to make me want to write a post about it? It’s really nothing special, just a nice balance of sweet and salt.

[print_this]MD (Most Delicious) Pork Marinade/Sauce

Yield: Enough for around 1 lb. of meat

1/3 cup of brown sugar (I may have used a little less)

3 large cloves garlic, pressed

1 Tbl oil (I used grapeseed, no particular reason)

1/4 cup maple syrup

2 Tsp Rosemary

2 Tsp Thyme

1 Tsp Celery Seed

1 Tsp sea salt

Marinate the loins in this mixture for 1 hour+. Bake at 375F for 20 minutes (for thin loins). Poor all the pan drippings into a saucepan and bring to a boil. Mix a little cornstarch and water and poor it into the pan. Stir at boiling for about a minute and remove from heat. Strain the sauce. Plate the pork and pour the sauce over top. Serve with toasted biscuits, you’ll want something to sop up the delicious sauce!

Note: I didn’t measure when I did this, so it’s approximate.
[/print_this]
Note #2: I used random spices, you could substitute others I’m sure.

I’m going to try this recipe again soon as written to make sure these measurements are correct, but they’re pretty close. It’s so delicious, you won’t be disappointed.

And sadly no, that is not my photo above. But the sauce looks pretty much the same as the one I made. And my pork didn’t look nearly as good, I’m not very good at baking pork.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Most Delicious Pork Marinade

  1. This looks absolutely delish!
    If you didn’t say it’s pork, I would probably took them as a white fish steak…they look light, yet flavourful.

  2. Carrie says:

    You’re right, now that I study it it looks like white fish…hmm, I wonder if the photographer made a mistake? Either way it looks delish.

Share your Reply

