How Cute is a Baby Llama?

This cute.

Is it not the most adorable little animal?

Her name is Cinderella and she isn’t more than a couple months old. She has quite the little story!

You see, Cinderella’s mother is evil. Her name is Mama Llama. Mama Llama never had a baby, but nevertheless she was always called Mama Llama. She has quite the attitude. Well Mama Llama used to have a male llama friend named Rambo. They lived together for many years, but no baby llama was ever produced.

Several months ago Rambo moved to a new home, and Mama Llama lived alone. Not quite alone though, she had goat and chicken friends.

But numerous months later, surprise! Mama Llama suddenly had a baby llama!

It’s kind of like the time my mom gave me a guinea pig (named Pun’kin) and it had a baby in the middle of the night a month later. We got a 2-for-1 deal!

Anyway, that’s the story of the baby llama. Sadly she must grow up in a single parent barnyard. And her mother is overly protective. Cinderella always wants to be friends, but Mama won’t let her. Such an isolated life. But she still prances around the pasture.

See her go boing at the end like an antelope? So precious! (andIwon’ttellyouthatIjusttyped’previous’insteadof’precious)

All the above animals belong to my lovely parents-in-law. They have the 2 llamas, several chickens, several temperamental goats, and 1 very old barn cat named Sublime. A lovely collection I’d say.

Why do they have llamas? Well, I’m not completely sure. They’re not good for anything, and they don’t like being touched or ridden. Though they will eat carrots from your hands eagerly. I think my mother-in-law just likes them. Why not?

Here’s a few more pictures from Thanksgiving in wine country (did I mention that they live in Washington wine country?) Actually it’s more like cow and hops country, but during  the grape harvest it smells divine.

On with the show. The next picture is of a spider I saw on the fence (I think I see fangs! Or whatever they are…) So if your squeamish stop reading here. 🙂

A pretty farm at sunset. I wish I had a better picture and that I wasn’t in a moving vehicle. But I make do.

And one last photo (I went a little crazy today). This is the house of a friend of my husband’s. Now look carefully, this house has a grass roof! The upper roof that you can’t see is also grass. So they sort of live underground. Cool, no?

Another round of applause for the speedy Cinderella! Encore, encore!

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “How Cute is a Baby Llama?

  1. Scott says:

    Why do they have llamas?

    To protect the goats and other critters from threats! Llamas are typically great guardians and very protective of others. They’re good for many other things too, and at the same time low impact to their surroundings.

    • Carrie says:

      I should tell them that, I’m not entirely sure they know. I’m also not entirely sure they would mourn the loss of the goats, haha. Such ornery creatures. But the llamas do seem protective. Thanks!

  2. Jamie says:

    That is the cutest little llama! Also, that’s cool how their house has a grass roof, does that do anything to help insulate?

    • Carrie says:

      I’d be guessing yes. I mean, if they’re partly underground it would be cooler in the summer. I’m not sure if it’s warmer in the winter though, it should act like a basement would and I never think of basements as being warm. But that’s probably because a lot of people just don’t bother heating their basements.

  3. Pumpkin says:

    Awww, those little llamas are so cute! I always wanted a llama as a kid, but my parents said no. 😦

Share your Reply

