12 Layer Flourless Chocolate Dobos Torte

Sounds easy, no?

Let’s put it this way, my version of this torte has 8 layers and it’s a little tipsy. It’s setting up in the freezer as we speak, but by no means will it look as pristine as the picture in Sherry Yard’s Desserts by the Yard cookbook that my friend Charyn lent to me. Oh no, not by a long shot.

Back to the story of why I even tried to make this torte. Tonight there is a dinner theater fundraiser at my relative’s church that we go to every year.

And every year they have a dessert auction and people buy cakes for hundreds of dollars, that sort of thing. So, as it would follow, I decided to make a torte for the auction. I had hopes and dreams of  a beautiful, impressive 12 layer torte that would in the end look like this:

Fullscreen capture 12122009 34158 PM.bmp

But in reality looks like this:

Uh-huh.

I tried right? And by golly I know it tastes good, I tasted every piece of this cake and it is divine. And the ganache I put on top has coffee liquer in it, which I think makes it even more delicious. And there’s no way I’m not bringing this to the auction, it has 15 eggs. Fifteen.

Here is the trail to this saggy mess. Please excuse the pictures, I’m no photographer. First, the cake layers.

Originally there were 3, can you spot them all in the kitchen?

You can bet your bottom dollar I licked the spatula. And yes, I have a bright green spatula, it’s how I roll.

The first layer. It was too thick though. That’s why I ended up with only 8 layers. The layers were made by using sheet pans and then quartering them. Followed by piling them on top of each other.

Building the cake…

The layers all put together, as the husband put it,”It looks like a pile of waffles”. Thanks husband.

And the final product:

So droopy and sad. I’ve made much better cakes in the past.

But hey, close ups always make things better.

What did I learn? I am not a pastry chef. Not by a long shot.

Tagged ,

11 thoughts on “12 Layer Flourless Chocolate Dobos Torte

  1. 12 layers! Wow…that’s a labour of love!

  2. Graziana says:

    wow it looks like a real treat!

  3. Mimi says:

    Great job on your torte. You should join the Daring Bakers, this was one of our challenges the past year.
    Mimi

  4. rebecca says:

    wow be very proud of yourself looks amazing thanks for visiting my blog

    Rebecca

  5. dedicateddourly says:

    Looks delicious. I’ll be making the cake this weekend, and was wondering if you baked all 3 layers at once, or did the 3rd layer wait its turn, per the recipe? If it had to wait, did it suffer any deflation? Or any other maladies? Thanks!

    • Carrie says:

      Well the layers didn’t have flour or any rising agents so they didn’t deflate or suffer from any difficulties. Each layer was baked individually because I only had one pan that was the right size (I will warn you that I did have issues with this particular recipe and using wax paper, but that may differ for you. Just use lots of spray oil.)

      • dedicateddourly says:

        Thanks for the response. My main concern was deflation due to the fact that the cake is a egg-foam cake. I’m relieved to hear there were no ill effects. No time for a trial run.

        • Carrie says:

          Oh yes, good point. I didn’t even consider that, but no, no ill effects. If anything I needed it to deflate, one of my layers was too thick. I did have an issue with the pan not being completely level and the layers cooking unevenly. That resulted in the edges becoming almost completely hard.

Share your Reply

