What I Learned This Week: Car Wash Edition

So hubby and I recently washed the carpets of our car. This was preceded by an epic drive to every car wash we could remember to find one with a carpet shampooer machine. All of them had the vacuums, but we needed some heavy duty scrubbing here.

Anyway, we found one. Basically the only one in North Seattle. Possibly all of Seattle, who knows? It’s on Aurora for those Seattlites out there who want to know. It’s a Brown Bear car wash.

Back to the beginning, we washed the carpets. Well they didn’t have a blow dryer to thoroughly dry the carpets. So we vacuumed the foam off and it was all mostly dry after that but still damp.

The next morning…the car smelled a little musty and mildewy.

Note to self: Wash the carpets in the summer when you can roll the windows down to dry it all off.

Remedy: Buy an air freshener that smells like pumpkin pie! Not a bad trade.

What else I learned this week:

1. Every cookie freezes well. I’ve never met one that didn’t. And putting them in the freezer is not going to stop you from eating them.

2. Don’t look at food blogs right before grocery shopping, it’s dangerous to your budget. And it’s more than likely you won’t make all those wonderful things that you thought you would make. Hurray menu planning!

3. MASH is every bit as great as I remember it to be. Same goes for Little House on the Prairie.

4. Restaurant pad thai is the one thing that will always be better than homemade.

Learn more things at Musings of a Housewife!

Photo by NCinDC.

Tagged , , ,

16 thoughts on “What I Learned This Week: Car Wash Edition

  1. I would never think of shampooing our carpets in the vehicle. Great idea though. Oh, and I’ll have to try freezing cookies. Sounds glorious!

  2. See, the 2nd part of number 1 is the problem! I wish there was a way to make them and have them there when you need them, but not eat them all BEFORE you need them. sigh.

  3. april says:

    I agree about looking at food sites when writing a grocery list. It’s dangerous, and you find yourself buying random spices and herbs that just sit around for months afterwards!

  4. Viki says:

    I never watched Little House on the Prairie when it was on but years ago, I started watching it in reruns. I’m pretty sure I saw every episode. I still watch occasionally if I happen to flip the channel and it’s on.

    • Carrie says:

      I just love Little House on the Prairie. When I was little I watched it every morning with my mom. 🙂 I think it’s a great show for young girls.

  5. Christine says:

    Ya know, I’ve never thought about freezing cookies! Think I’ll do that next baking season – I mean Christmas season lol Oh and yeah I heart meal planning! It has made life so much simpler knowing what’s for dinner all week! And it has all but stopped the 4 children coming downstairs saying every night saying WHAT’S FOR DINNER?!?!?!? That in itself is worth it 😉

    • Carrie says:

      Haha, I don’t have kids so I don’t quite have that problem. But it is nice for me to be able to tell my husband to go online and check my blog if he wants to know what’s for dinner tonight. 🙂

  6. angie says:

    love to watch those shows in reruns as well not sure how we can watch it so many times and it always seems new

  7. I just stumbled upon your blog….I’m also a native Pacific NWesterner but have moved to the east coast recently. Anyway, I love the title of your blog and that’s what brought me here. I, too, LOVE dark chocolate and actually still eat it even though I’m refined-sugar-free. I just made a thick and creamy hot chocolate this morning with coconut milk that is to die for.

    Anyway, look forward to reading more!

  8. I LOVED Little House of the Prairie – and growing up in a house full of boys I rarely got to watch it!

  9. I had never heard of pad thai until I went to the Martha Stewart blog show last week and they made it on the set! It smelled so good. I’d love to try it. So it’s really better eaten out? Good to know. Then I won’t bother learning how to make it. 😉

    • Carrie says:

      Unless you practice. 😉 I’m kind of picky so that’s why I think it’s better made by a real Thai chef than in my little kitchen. I can never get the noodles to be quite right. At the very least you have to eat it at a restaurant before trying to make it, it’s such a yummy dish.

Share your Reply

