Chocolate Chewies

This week I tried out the recipe for Chocolate Chewies from How Sweet It Is. They are supposed to be like the chocolate chewies at Whole Foods, I have never had them but they sounded and looked really tasty.

My experience with these cookies was not good and apparently I just don’t like this kind of cookie. My husband thinks they are delicious and eats them with coffee, I just have strange taste buds. I will make them again for my husband. I do admit that they are very fragile and light, I think I just like a chunky cookie to sink my teeth into.

The recipe is ridiculously simple to make, but there are a few things you should know.

1. Don’t think you can get away with just mixing the ingredients with a spoon. You have to whip it in a mixer or with an electric beater until it’s a thick meringue consistency. The batter should be a lighter brown, not dark like most brownies.

2. Experiment with length of baking and temperature for the first few batches, I didn’t get it right until the last batch.

3. These cookies will spread a bit , so just put like a teaspoon for each cookie, even less will work. If they are spreading just way too much then you haven’t beaten them enough. Also try putting the mix in the fridge for a little bit to harden it up a little.

I obviously do not have the magic touch when it comes to these cookies as they really aren’t difficult to make. You just have to do it right. Experiment, experiment, experiment. It makes for a fun test kitchen. 🙂

[print_this]Chocolate Chewy Cookies

Adapted from bakespace and How Sweet It Is

12 oz powdered sugar

2 oz  cocoa (the better the cocoa the better these cookies will be)

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 egg whites

1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350.

Stir dry ingredients together in a stand mixer. Turn mixer on low and add egg whites one at a time – the batter will be very dry until the last egg white. Add vanilla and turn mixer on high for 2 minutes. (You may also add chocolate chips like I did, but the cookies won’t be as pretty.)

Spoon batter onto a cook sheet. Bake for 8-12 minutes and let cool before removing from cookie sheet as they are fragile.
[/print_this]
*Please refer to the tips above the recipe for troubleshooting.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chewies

  1. Glad that your husband did like them. 🙂

Share your Reply

