Menu Plan Monday: Mule Deer Edition

Way back in the day, in the first months I was dating my husband, I went with him on a weekend trip to visit his parents 3 hours away. It was a good time. I met his parents and their llamas, and we had elk for dinner. Actually I can’t guarantee that it was elk, but my memory knows it was some sort of wild game. Ever since then I have had elk or llama venison in my freezer. I still have yet to master cooking it though. My only success comes from putting it in the crockpot for a few hours with onion and wine. Or beer. Or whiskey. Ok I haven’t tried whiskey, but alcohol is always a good marinade.

Anyway, dinner tonight is in the crockpot as we speak, a couple pounds of mule deer simmering away in a bath of onions, red wine, oil, spring onions, and a hodge podge of spices. My challenge is to make it come out moist. Game meat is easy to over cook as it’s is virtually fat-free (making it incredibly healthy by the way, in addition to it feeding upon the land and not from a trough.) If anyone has any tips, I’d love to hear them for future endeavors.

Menu Plan

Sunday: Mule deer and an apple salad

Monday: Mushroom, Red Pepper, Chicken, Carrot, and Bok Choy stir fry with Asian inspired marinade and whole wheat biscuits (and yes I cut them into hearts)

Tuesday: Chicken Nuggets and Roasted Parsnips and Carrots with a Balsamic Glaze

Wednesday: Pineapple Coconut Chicken Curry and Wild Rice (still tweaking this recipe)

Thursday: Hearty Mushroom Barley Salad and Charred Tomatoes

Friday: Sauceless Mozzarella, Caramelized Onion, and Kale Pizza

Saturday: Leftovers galore

See more menu plans for Menu Plan Monday over at the Organizing Junkie!

This week I’m also making gingersnaps, my most favorite cookie!

Teaser photos for my post about my Olympic experience this week!

Can you guess which event I went to?

Tagged

Share your Reply

