My Favorite Beer

Photo by jronaldlee.

It’s Beer Week here in Seattle, so I thought I’d share some of my experiences with beer in all their grandeur.

It was a long, long time ago that I first tasted beer, I don’t remember when or where or why, but I do know that I didn’t like it. I hated it. Beer was bitter and tasted like wheat (well technically it was probably hops, but what did I know about hops then?)

Fast forward to when I met my husband. Each time he had a beer he made me take sip. It was always awful, leaving a sour taste on the back of my tongue. It wasn’t like it was Budweiser, I’m pretty sure I have never seen the man drink a Budweiser. Or Miller. Or anything with the deranged term “light” in the name. For the first year and half that I knew him, he drank what I now know to be middle-of-the-road beers. Above Pabst but not gourmet. Except for a few, like Arrogant Bastard.

Photo by found_drama.

Then we temporarily moved to Spokane for a job. We also had the chance to then spend quality time with my eldest brother and his wife and son while we were there. My husband and brother had never really spent anytime together, but they soon discovered they both liked beer. My brother is definitely a beer connoisseur (thank you spell check). The husband and brother often tasted gourmet beers together, of course making me try them along the way.

My taste was growing. I was starting to tolerate beer, maybe even enjoying it a little. Now, a year later, I fully enjoy beer. Not all beers mind you, I am still rather picky. I pretty much only like Imperial Stouts, any beer that you can’t see through and has a tan-tinged foam is probably going to be smooth and delicious.

Photo by Traffik [US]

And finally we come to my favorite beer, beating out the Old Rasputin Imperial Stout and the 09 Abyss, is the grand Quilter’s Irish Death from Iron Horse. It’s so smooth, so malty, so deserving of a title like “dessert beer” if there were such thing (is there?) Iron House refers to it as “beer candy”, never did words ring more true.

I really don’t know much about beer, nor do I drink it very often. But I am glad that I can appreciate it now.

So you see, old dogs can learn new tricks.

Photo by Sailing “Footprints: Real to Reel” (Ronn ashore).

Recommended for beer-phobes: Lindemans Lambic Fruit Beers [I really enjoy these, though expensive and they don’t really taste like beer made with hops], and of course Irish Death. Just try it, just a sip. You never know.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Beer

  1. Mike says:

    I’ll have to give Irish Death a try. I’m aging a bottle of ’09 Abyss, and it’s killing me to just let it sit. You should take a look at Widmer’s Pitch Black. Not quite a stout, but still delicious, dark, and malty.

    • Carolyn says:

      Totally try it, so good. That ’09 Abyss wouldn’t have lasted more than a day in our house, I admire your restraint. I’ll definitely look into Widmer’s, thanks!

  2. Arrogant Bastard Ale is a great beer, but hey there is nothing wrong with a PBR every now and then. I like the article keep them coming.

Share your Reply

