How to Make a Salad Sans Leafy Greens

A week or so ago it was warm out and the husband requested something light for dinner. Alright, I go in search of some spinach and salad-making tools. But the fridge gives me nada. Squat. No spinach for me.

Well that’s fine Mr. Fridge, you won’t get the best of me. I peek into the fruit bowl and spy four things, an avocado, mango, tomato, and one lemon. Ah fruit bowl, you never let me down.

I pulled out some chicken and sliced it up strip style and tossed in a pan with a teensy bit of olive oil and half a lemon’s worth of juice. While that was browning, I diced the mango, avocado, and tomato and divided them between two bowls. Hmmm, still a little too sparse for dinner.

I open the fridge and scan each shelf for something more. I glimpsed the cheese drawer, ah-ha! Pulled out some honey goat cheese and crumbled that into the bowls. Divine.

Back at the fry pan I squeeze the other half of the lemon on the chicken, let it cook a couple of minutes more. Then I sprinkle an itty bitty bit of Johnny’s Seasoning (don’t tell me it’s not good for me, my taste buds will disagree).  I divide the chicken between the bowls, a dash of coarse sea salt, and dinner is served.

Really fresh, simple, and light. The best part is this cost probably .75 per serving since I bought the avocado and mango on a 2/$1 sale at Fred Meyer’s and the lemon at Uwajimaya’s where they’re always cheap. I see this being a heavy repeater this summer. Maybe with cucumbers and fresh herbs.

For those of you who skipped the post looking for the recipe (we’re all guilty), I’ll give you a hint. The recipe is in the post. ❤

Photo by Edwin Nollen.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “How to Make a Salad Sans Leafy Greens

  1. Ronnica says:

    That does sound good!

  2. GirlonRaw says:

    Such a delicious and fresh sounding salad (sans the chicken for me!)

Share your Reply

