My Balcony Garden

My little balcony garden has recently become quite productive in the color green. An abundance of green. Yet I am lacking produce as of yet. It’s not easy being green, you know?

The only harvest I have had is of my bok choy, which grew much more rapidly than every other plant. I’ll probably plant another one in the now vacant pot. The one I am currently pulling leaves off of has teeny little white bugs on it, but there is no damage to the plant so I figure it’s alright (but I put it in a corner away from the other plants, just in case).

My balcony garden:

  • Patty Pan Squash x2
  • Kale x3
  • Strawberries
  • Bush Early Girl tomatoes x2 (not as early as they claim, though probably due to the fault of the slow start on summer in Seattle)
  • Other tomatoes that I don’t know what they are
  • Butter lettuce (and a few other lettuces)
  • Arugula
  • Cucumber (some determinate variety)
  • Lavendar
  • Basil
  • Mint
  • Variety of peppers (banana, jalapeño, etc.)
  • Spinach

I also attempted to grow teeny round carrots, which started out great but all of a sudden they all died. Bell peppers and some herbs also didn’t make it past seedlings. My chives never even sprouted, but the seeds were old so I will excuse them for being absent.

What I have learned about balcony gardening:

  • Stick your finger in the soil and if it feels pretty damp and moist, it doesn’t need watered.
  • Excessive wind bothers some plants, I shield mine with larger plants and it seems to please them.
  • When transferring an indoor plant to an outdoor plant, “harden” it by placing it outside during the day and inside at night so it isn’t shocked by the temperature change.
  • Today I learned that  tomatoes and cucumbers don’t grow well together. And I’ve had my cucumber sandwiched between two large tomato plants all this time. Looks like we’ll have to do a little switcheroo.
  • Be sure that your plants are pollinated so that they will produce. I’m not sure how many bees make it to my balcony, I never see them. So I take a little make up brush and lightly go from flower to flower and pollinate them myself. I’ve also considered getting some bee attracting plants. Or just opening up a can of coke and leaving it around the plants.
  • It takes 3 pitcher fulls to water my entire garden about every other day since it started getting hot out.
  • If your plants look wilty but you’ve been watering them every day and it’s not scorching hot out, you are over-watering. Set the watering can down before you drown the poor things.

If you are a balcony gardener, I would love any tips you have or favorite plants that you grow.

*Please forgive my grainy photography, my little point and shoot only goes so far.

**My email subscription widget is broken and is refusing to be fixed. I will let you know when it’s back up! But you can subscribe via RSS by clicking on the orange icon in the sidebar.

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “My Balcony Garden

  1. Stevie says:

    I love it! I have a small balcony garden going now, too. Just zucchini and some herbs. I don’t get a whole lot of sun on the balcony, so it’s not ideal for growing lots of stuff.

    I can’t wait to harvest!

    • Carrie says:

      Let me know how your zucchini turns out! Which direction does your balcony face per chance? Mine faces west so I get direct sun from around 2-3pm on.

  2. Hana says:

    Wow, I never knew you could grow bok choy (which I love) in a balcony garden! We live in an apartment – your vegetable garden is very inspiring – it’s making me want to try to overcome my not-so-green thumbs! We have a dward Meyer lemon plant which flowers like crazy but refuses to fruit!

  3. Rose Gold says:

    Your balcony garden is great! You can save space in your balcony garden by just using trellisis, hooks, brackets and wall-mounted urns and shelves. I use this things for my balcony garden too so that I can have more plants to grow. My favorite is the daylily!

  4. Crystal Fish says:

    It seems your plants have grown and all were green with no fruit to harvest yet except your bokchoi in which you mention. You might consider applying organic fertilizer rich in potassium for fruit bearing vegetables such as tomatoes and eggplants. Your soil might rich in Nitrogen which is good for plant growth and green leafy vegetables but for fruit bearing ones, it is best to give a dose of potash in order for them to bear fruits.

Share your Reply

