Caramelized Onion and Prosciutto Pizza

I have mastered pizza dough. After many tough and dense crusts later, I have found an easy crust, that has a flavor, and ages well in the fridge.

I will admit that it’s not completely perfect. My technique, not the recipe. But it’s closer than every other attempt and my adventures with pre-made dough from Trader Joe’s.

By the way, Trader Joe’s dough is frustrating. The taste is alright in the I-need-something-to-transport-pizza-toppings-to-my-mouth sort of way. But the most annoying trait is that the dough is so incredibly elastic that it won’t stay rolled out on the pizza pan. So I end up with half the size pizza that I want.

My newfound secret can be found a hop, skip, and a jump away at The Pioneer Woman. And follow her strong suggestion that you make the pizza dough a day or two or three ahead of time. I’m convinced that it makes a difference.

[print_this]Pioneer Woman’s Pizza Crust (2 crusts) (The Pioneer Woman Cooks)

  • 1 teaspoon Active Dry Or Instant Yeast
  • 4 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 1/3 cups Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Sprinkle yeast over 1 1/2 cups warm (not lukewarm) water.

In a mixer, combine flour and salt. With the mixer running on low speed (with dough hook attachment), drizzle in olive oil until combined with flour. Next, pour in yeast/water mixture and mix until forms into a ball.

Coat a separate mixing bowl with a light drizzle of olive oil, toss to coat dough in olive oil, ten cover the bowl with a moist kitchen towel and set in warm place to rise 1 to 2 hours.

After dough has risen, divide in half. When ready to use dough preheat oven to 500 degrees.  Lightly drizzle olive oil on pizza pan or rimmed baking sheet.

Using your hands stretch the dough to your desired shape, pressing the dough into the pan.

Lay the desired topping over the dough and bake the pizza for 8 to 10 minutes, until the edges of the crust are golden.

The remaining dough can wrap tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerate for up to 3 days or freeze for 6 months.[/print_this]

Following my love for Ree’s dough recipe, is my love for her caramelized onion and prosciutto pizza. Oh it’s heavenly. It’s good. It’s really, really good. And once you have the ingredients, it’s actually quite simple to throw together. Especially since you can make the dough a few days ahead.

Pre-500 degree oven.

I have had this for 3 meals this week (dinner and two days of leftovers for lunch) and I’m still not tired of it. The rich cheese, the sweetness of the onion, and the crispiness of the prosciutto are perfecto.

——/-

Have you noticed that I like caramelized onions? This is why I keep my brown sugar in a jar labeled “magic”. I love me some sweet onions.

I do have some tips for this pizza. Be sure to get a big red onion. Buy 2 actually. You want lots of red onion. And if you think you don’t like them, try it anyway. They don’t turn out quite like you’d expect–so much better.

My other addition was a generous sprinkle of coarse sea salt on top of the beast. It draws the sweetness of the onion out even more. Ahhh, sea salt. You decorate nearly every dish that comes out of my kitchen.

One last difference is that I used the full recipe of dough. Ree says it makes enough for two pizzas. Ha. My pizzas are monstrosities. Or my dough just doesn’t rise enough, though it looked plenty risen to me.

Mmm, that pizza is mighty fine if I do say so myself. So does Caleb. So is Caleb. Get it? Get it? 😉

You can find The Pioneer Woman’s recipe here, where I found it. Or follow the recipe from her website below. All credit is due to the PW, because she dominates this pizza.

[print_this]Caramelized Onion and Prosciutto Pizza (The Pioneer Woman)

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole Pizza Crust
  • Olive Oil, For Drizzling
  • 1 whole Large Red Onion, Halved And Thinly Sliced
  • ¼ cups Brown Sugar
  • Kosher Salt To Taste
  • Parmesan Cheese, Grated
  • 10 ounces, weight Fresh Mozzarella Cheese, Thinly Sliced
  • 8 slices Prosciutto (more To Taste)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Pour 2 tablespoons of olive oil into a large skillet and heat on medium-high heat. Add onions and brown sugar to hot skillet and stir. Let heat for several minutes or until onions are caramelized or brown and cooked throughly. Set aside.

Grab a large cooking sheet and spray with cooking spray or sprinkle with corn meal. Roll out pizza dough onto the rectangle cooking sheet and spread thin into the corners so you have a nice flat rectangle-shaped pizza dough. Drizzle some olive oil, sprinkle on some salt, and a generous portion of grated Parmesan cheese.

Slice a block of mozzarella cheese and lay the slices upon the pizza dough. Grab the now-cooled caramelized onions and spread upon the dough. Grab the prosciutti and lay whole slices all over the dough. Sprinkle with some more Parmesan cheese if desired.

Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in the lower half of the oven, or until crust is golden brown. Remove from oven and cut into squares. Serve immediately.[/print_this]

See tips above.

5 thoughts on “Caramelized Onion and Prosciutto Pizza

  1. Chad says:

    ok – i haven’t tried Prosciutto yet — i’ve meant to numerous times its just never worked out. Its on my list of things to try. I really enjoy your pictures and content, Carrie. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    • Carrie says:

      Thanks! Prosciutto is like a very thin ham. Pretty much anything your wrap it around tastes amazing, asparagus, dates, it’s all good.

  2. E says:

    That looks amazingly delicious. Love your blog. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Carrie!

    Your blog is looking awesome!

    Hope you are well. This pizza is a great reminder for me, I’ve been meaning to do some pizza on the BBQ.

Share your Reply

