Collard Greens, Peachy Keens…

I’m really looking forward to my lunch today that it’s a little ridiculous. If I wasn’t so full of the best flavor of gelato ever (more on that later) I might take a bite.

My main entree includes three ingredients: collard greens (from Tahoma Farms), red pepper hummus (WF), and bell pepper slices (leftover from a BBQ). It’s a wrap! Excuse the weird shade of the red pepper, I took all of these photos under awful light at 10pm.

And yes I’m that excited about a wrap. Who isn’t. And no question mark there, because it’s not a question.

Mmm, wrap.

This is the hummus I used, it’s from Whole Foods and ridiculously delicious. It comes with a later of roasted red pepper on top that you stir in like fruit-on-the-bottom yogurt. Or you’re like me and dig to the bottom of the yogurt (or in this case, skim the peppers off of the top) and eat the fruity goodness. Leaving just enough fruit to flavor the rest of the yogurt.

Lunch also includes low-moisture string cheese and and a tupperware full of blueberries, mango, and fresh raspberries from my mom’s yard. I’m pretty sure that those raspberries and her homemade applesauce are two of my most favorite things in the world. Nobody does it better. Even farmer’s markets don’t get the raspberries right. Believe me, I’ve tried.

Aren’t they glorious? I’ve eaten them probably every year of my life in jam, syrup, frozen, and fresh form. I really can’t wait to have my own raspberry plants.

Drool.

On a side note, the wild blackberries in my alley have a few ripe berries! There are millions upon millions of blackberry bushes around my place and across the main road. And since it’s all city folk up here, I’m doubting that they’ll even touch them. Surprising since fresh blackberries are so expensive.

Anyway, I ended the night with a few spoonfuls of my new found love–Chocolate Hazelnut Gelato. Translated: Nutella Gelato.

My favorite flavor ever. It tastes exactly like what Nutella gelato should taste like. All your hopes and dreams have come alive.

Here are the nutrional facts if you’re curious, only seven ingredients (grouping the stabilizers together).

I bought it at Fred Meyer’s for $2.50 on sale. I would also love to try the Talenti gelatos but they cost more than I’m willing to shell out when I can have Nutella gelato for half the price. Yes the nice man at the store who grabbed a tub of Talenti strongly suggested that I should buy some as well, but I love finding new delicious things that don’t cost twice as much as I want to pay. Especially when there is Nutella gelato. I can’t get over that. Nutella. Gelato. Genius.

P.S. I could explain the title. But there’s no point if you don’t already recognize it. The rest of you get to stay in the dark. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Collard Greens, Peachy Keens…

  1. Lamb says:

    I think the photos are just fine, crazy late-night lights or not. I could really go for a raspberry right now! Darn you πŸ˜‰

  2. katie says:

    OH MY GOSH we are soo twins!!!! I JUST had a cabbage wrap as well!! Stuffed with cottage cheese and turkey πŸ™‚ SO good!

  3. AdiFey says:

    Those rasberries looks incredible! Holy Yum. I love the layout of your blog. Did you create it??
    I will be back to read more! fer sure!

  4. Now that is something I would NEVER think of doing. Using collard greens as a wrap…I’m intrigued! Must try soon.

  5. Talenti is soooooo good, but I only buy them on the rare occasion that they’re on sale! So expensive! I also love Vosges, but also only on sale, and I’ve only seen it at Whole Foods in Chicago and New York. SIGH.

  6. I think the photos are just fine, crazy late-night lights or not. I could really go for a raspberry right now! Darn you πŸ˜‰

Share your Reply

