USPS: United States Phail Service

The USPS is not my friend. First they always have the longest lines. Next they take away my tape. Soon they’ll up the cost of stamps againThen they’re only open 7 hours a day. It just gets better and better. Yet they win because they are a billion dollars cheaper than sending mail via UPS or FedEx. Yes, one billion dollars.

Yesterday I had two packages to ship. Two normal packages. Each not more than a pound or two. The post office right next to my work is open from 10am to 6pm. It’s downtown. It should be open before 10. But I’ll take the “open till 6”, that will work.

I leave work a few minutes after 5. March down to the post office and walk in. Inside is a lone woman at the counter waiting, nobody is behind the counter. So I stood there and waited a few minutes, then a woman came out from the back and told me that they were closed. “But the schedule says you’re open til 6” I say. “No, no we’re closed now.”

Uh-huh. I see.

The other waiting woman and I left, she was a  little huffier than me, I think she had been waiting awhile.

She could have at least locked the door at 5pm if that’s when she wants to close. Maybe leave a note on the door. But government services are special and don’t have to worry about things like customer service.

Since the packages had to be mailed out that day, I left and found a FedEx and got robbed blind for shipping. Ridiculous.

Yet I’ll still go back to USPS and deal with their rudeness for the sake of saving money. Ah well. Such is life.

5 thoughts on “USPS: United States Phail Service

  1. Denalee says:

    I completely agree – I always dread trips to the post office, but I just can’t get myself to spend more somewhere else.

    Your blog is so cute! Glad I found it 🙂

  2. E says:

    I was lucky enough to find a little mail place that sends out USPS, FedEx and UPS. They are never anywhere near as busy as the post office, and way more consistent with their service!

  3. i boycotted USPS years ago…they lost ALL KINDS of stuff and i don’t want to pay them extra for a delivery confirmation number….i usually go Fedex because then I know they’ll take responsibility!

  4. Jamie (Making the Mundane Magical) says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love your picture of you and your love. It looks so peaceful. 🙂

    I used to work at a printing department and had to deal with UPS. I think any mail system is frusterating. It makes me crazy just thinking about it!

    • Carrie says:

      Hi Jamie! I had to deal with USPS again today, but it was actually quite painless. They redeemed themselves a little. Though it reminds me of when I used to work in a medical office and I had to deal with insurance companies, oh the pain! But every once in awhile I had a truly nice person to work with on the other end of the line. 🙂

      Thanks for the compliment! I’ve always loved that photo, we have very few decent photos of us. Even most of our wedding photos are pretty bad!

Share your Reply

