Avocolada

It’s a new husband’s favorite!

Seriously, my husband said it’s the best avocado smoothie he has ever had. And he’s had his fair share. I’m sure you’ve seen avocoladas around the blogosphere, they’re pretty popular. My first encounter with an avocado in a smoothie was in bubble tea on University Way in Seattle. At first I was leery. Avocados are for guacamole and sandwiches. Not smoothies. So I thought.

After I tried my first one, I was hooked. Avocados are not very strongly flavored, so they are versatile on the savory or sweet side. And it makes such rich, creamy smoothies. Add too much ice and you have to eat it with a spoon. But I like to eat all of my smoothies with a spoon, unlike Caleb who camels it down. Yes, camels is a verb.

To Camel: To consume a beverage quickly and with gusto. Occurs often after intense exercise.

So this is my super hurried recipe for a version of an avocolada that I made up yesterday. It’s based on what I imagined it should be like. It would be better with coconut milk instead of regular milk and coconut extract, but it’s all I had.

[print_this]Avocolada

Serves 1-2

1 small avocado or 1/2 large avocado

1 banana

Handful of clean leafy greens*

1/2 teaspoon coconut extract

1-2 cups milk of choice

2-3 tablespoons or more of wheat germ

2-4 ice cubes

Sweetener to taste (you won’t need much, the banana should make it sweet if it’s thoroughly ripened)

Toss it all in the blender and blend until smooth! Make sure you blend it long enough or you will end up with lettuce bits stuck between your teeth. And be careful with wheat germ, it can make it taste bitter if you add too much.

*You might need to adjust to personal taste, especially depending on which and how much of a leafy green you use.[/print_this]

And am I the only one who has tried to grow an avocado tree? I always start one, but then end up throwing it out after a couple of weeks. I don’t have the patience, nor the climate, for such a feat. But doesn’t it look like fun?

7 thoughts on “Avocolada

  1. oh my goodness, this is INSANITY! i’m bookmarking this sucker and making it for dinner 🙂

  2. molly says:

    I’ve never heard of an Avocolada, but it sounds delicious!

  3. YUM! Ok I have a slight love with avocados so this is perfect for me, thank you!

    I have tried an avo tree with no success 😦

    xxoo

  4. Gooseberried says:

    I actually have never heard of an Avocolada, but it looks delish. I would have never thought of putting avocado in smoothie form before. I’ll have to try it!

  5. katie says:

    oh WOW avocados in smoothies! that is BOLD girl. it looks awesome!

  6. Lamb says:

    Sexy Nerd tried to grow an avocado tree! No success though. I love healthy recipes, but I’m a bit squeamish about making this. Do you SWEAR that it tastes good? Better than if I just turned these ingredients into guacamole? 🙂

    Lamb’s Most Recent Post: Cornbread Muffins…with Hotdogs and Spinach!

  7. Kristen says:

    I recently saw something similar in a cookbook I reviewed! I am totally intrigued but haven’t tried it yet…

Share your Reply

