Scenes from a Fantasy, Part I

Rows upon rows of tomato plants, a slight breeze mixing their scent with the wafting aroma of blackberries. Zucchini and spaghetti squash vines sprawling over the ground–lined with old, yellowed newspapers sprinkled with fresh grass cuttings. The garden was surrounded by hundreds of yellow and orange calendulas and delicate nasturtiums.

Nasturtium leaves were always my favorite because of the way the water balled up in little droplets that would slide around on the circular leaves. They epitomized the meaning of a dewy morning.

A month or so ago I went back to visit this garden. Not just the garden, honestly I was going to my parent’s house to help my mom can applesauce and raspberry jam. What doesn’t grow on my parent’s property? They have blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, Italian plums, multiple varieties of apples, peaches, pears, cherries, every vegetable there is plus a few more. I was a spoiled child, clearly.

Yet growing up with a garden like this literally in my back yard still didn’t teach me to not be afraid of spiders and bees. Though now I have a husband that is allergic to bees, thus I feel that my fear is validated. Never minded ladybugs though. Who’s scared of a ladybug, I ask you?

Obviously white flies. Which is why I did this.

Dragonflies are also frequent visitors to the garden.

I literally have dozens of photos I could show you of this garden, but until Part II, I will end my introduction to the fantasy land with this: flowers that I wish could be made into a dress.

I write this on the first truly dreary day  in a long time. It is classic cold, wet, rainy Seattle. But I welcome it back like an old friend, August or not. The summertime is always a relief when it arrives, with it’s forthcoming fruit and abundance of produce. Seattlites are blinded by the sun and subsequently blind the rest of the world with our paleness. We eagerly haul out our kayaks and lay outside in the parks soaking up every last ray of precious sunshine.

But the sound of rain on the roof is one of the most treasured and simple pleasures that there is. So I curl up on the couch with my laptop and watch the rain drizzle down the window pane, and savor every moment of this cool weather while it lasts.

5 thoughts on “Scenes from a Fantasy, Part I

  1. E says:

    That looks, sounds, and I bet even tastes wonderful. I love curl-up-in-a-comfy chair rain. A lovely excuse to be lazy!

  2. Carrie says:

    I’m secretly glad that today is another grey day, yesterday was just so lovely.

  3. Delishhh says:

    Just wanted to let you know i found your blog, love it and you have a new follower.

  4. HefiA says:

    I absolutely love your pictures!! Wow, you must have a really artistic eye …and a good camera doesn’t hurt either, right? 🙂

    I hope I’ll have a little vegetable garden someday too. I grew up with one as well and now I really, really miss it. It’s def. on my Bucket List though 🙂

    HefiA

  5. Carrie says:

    Aw thank you, you’re sweet! Though I must say that these photos mostly only look pretty because of photo editing. My camera is just a point-and-shoot!

Share your Reply

