Caramelized Red Onion Pizza

There’s just something absolutely fantastic about caramelized red onions. On sandwiches, on pizza, on burgers–you really can’t go wrong.

Well last week I craved pizza. Pizza with onions. Pizza with crispy kale. Pizza with lots of meaty goodness.

And by golly I made that pizza. A thick, soft crust layered with freshly shredded mozzarella (I rarely sauce my pizzas), Genoa salami, pepperoni, slowly caramelized red onions, lightly sprinkled with shredded kale from my balcony garden and a dash of basil + sea salt. It really was everything I believed it would be.

Don’t you just adore it when an idea in the kitchen transforms into exactly what you had envisioned? Too bad it’s so rare around here. I usually get an essence of my original plan, for better or for worse.

I’d provide you with the recipe for this pizza, but I already did. Don’t you remember?

1 pizza dough + mozzarella + salami + pepperoni+ caramelized onions + kale + basil + sea salt = perfection.

Next time though I think I might add bacon. Or goat cheese. But the caramelized red onions are here to stay.

P.S. Another killer use for caramelized red onions is on sandwiches with bacon jam plus all your regular fixins’. Husband absolutely raved about it when I made him a midnight sandwich the other night.

Source

3 thoughts on “Caramelized Red Onion Pizza

  1. i had pizza last night and don’t even care…i want THIS one tonight! 🙂

  2. Gina says:

    Hi – I just found your blog via comment on KERF. I noticed you mentioned Seattle, so thought I would check your blog out! I’m in Seattle too and a lover of food:) Your pizza looks amazing…and I’ve been wanting to try that bacon jam…I’ll have to pick some up very soon!!!

  3. Un blog muy competente, te hace pensar. Te sigo habitualmente

Share your Reply

