No Screaming Children Allowed

A restaurant in Carolina Beach, NC has put up signs stating that screaming children will not be tolerated. We’ve all been there, eating a quiet meal, with only the clink of glasses and spoons to interrupt the white noise-filled restaurant. Then BAM. The earth comes shattering down, quite loudly, as a child is having a fit over their pasta alfredo.

Not pleasant.

Photo from WECT6 News.

Which is why I commend this restaurant. I have several reasons for why I think this is more than acceptable:

  • The restaurant is not banning families with young children. They are merely discouraging it, and have said that if your child is disruptive, they will ask you to take them outside until they calm down. Perfectly reasonable. You would do that in church or in a library wouldn’t you?
  • Some parents are upset because they feel exiled from the restaurant. I’m sure that they don’t have to go to this particular restaurant. Go to another that doesn’t have such signs, or spend the money that you would spend on the food for the children on a babysitter if you need to go to this particular restaurant.
  • There are complaints from parents that they can’t help if their child screams or not. I hate to sound mean, but it is your child that you are responsible for. You should not knowingly bring your disruptive child into a non-family restaurant and significantly ruin everyone’s meal around you. Family in the name of a restaurant is a sort of label for restaurants saying that is ok to bring noisy little ones. I can deal with that, they give warning.
  • I am not surprised that the restaurant isn’t losing money off of this decision. There are many, many patrons out there who would love to go to a restaurant that nearly promises a quiet atmosphere.

I don’t have children, I don’t even have younger siblings. I can’t speak like an expert on child behavior, but I do know that this is a reasonable request by a private establishment. What do you think?

7 thoughts on “No Screaming Children Allowed

  1. Delishhh says:

    I think that it should be public knowledge just like library or church as you are speaking about. I do not think restaurants need to put up signs like this but partents should take their kid outside if the kid is screaming just to for respect for the other people in the restaurant. I understand kids might have a fit for whatever reason and i think kids should be allowed to all restaurants but i think parent just need to be respecful of people around them, however, i don’t always see that and parent just let their kid scream.

    • Carrie says:

      I agree, it should be common knowledge. It’s amazing how ignorant people can be. It seems like some parents have become immune to their child’s screaming, but the rest of us haven’t!

  2. Kate says:

    Makes sense to me. I work at a store at the mall so I see kids with parents acting up all the time. Some parents do discipline their children and actively make an effort to keep them from misbehaving, but a lot of parents it seems just don’t take responsibility, and simply letting their kid scream and make a scene without repercussions is no way to teach them not to do it again in the future. I’m not saying to yell at your kids to get them under control, but as you stated, just take them outside or whatever so as not to be disrespectful to everyone else.

    • Carrie says:

      I agree. Parents really seem to lack discipline with their children, or do it in a way that I think isn’t exactly the best way. Though I can’t really speak up since I don’t have children of my own.

      P.S. Isn’t it horrible with a child is screaming in the parts of the mall that echoes? Agh, my ears! But then again, when I go to the mall I am prepared for that sort of noise.

  3. Kris says:

    I totally with this and though I am not a mom yet, I can see myself getting embarrassed already when a future little one starts screaming in a public place. Just think airplane…..EEEKKK!

    xxoo

  4. Lamb says:

    That sign cracks me up! I work in a children’s dental office. The last thing I want to hear when I go out is MORE SCREAMING! :p

  5. Gooseberried says:

    I totally agree. I know I want kids someday but right now, I kind of despise them. They annoy the daylights out of me. I can’t stand going into a restaurant and enjoying my experience when all of a sudden a kids starts throwing a fit.

Share your Reply

