Avert Your Eyes My Veggie Friends

Actually I’m not going to post any horrible pictures. I’m not that mean. I’m just going to write about some happenings on a farm that may or may not delight you. Either way, don’t blame me for not warning you.

This past week I received several cuts of beef from my in-laws from a beef cow they bought many months ago. I believe the cow was supposed to be slaughtered in October or November, but something happened. I’m not sure what. Maybe the cow made my father-in-law mad. It happens you know. Cows are rather ornery like that. And when they are he tends to punch them. Sometimes successfully, sometimes not. When he’s not, he ends up with a broken, swollen hand and the cow looking at him nonchalantly like nothing happened. Maybe bats an eye because a fly landed on it.

Yeah. Life on the farm, eh?

Anyway, said cow (not the one that broke the in-law’s hand, a different but equally ornery cow) was slaughtered ahead of time. Subsequently I received a rather horrifying picture via text from my mother-in-law of the cow after they skinned it. Color me shocking pink, I was not expecting that. After I recovered, I showed the picture to my husband (who of course was unaffected, these are his parents after all who skinned the darn thing).

Long story short. I made beef stew the other night. And it was the best, most tender beef in the world. I never eat such tasty meat at home, I never buy the expensive stuff. It’s safe to say that my taste buds have ruled and I have been throughly desensitized towards the picture of the skinned cow. Nearly there any way.

The end.

15 thoughts on “Avert Your Eyes My Veggie Friends

  1. Stevie says:

    I’ve cut back on the amount of meat I eat mostly because I will only buy organic, grass fed, free range meat and I just can’t afford to buy it all the time! But oh my god it tastes SO good. It’s how meat is SUPPOSED to taste!

    • Carrie says:

      I applaud you! I’m pretty sure I’ve never bought the stuff in store. But I’m usually supplied with red meat by my in-laws, so it’s a rare case when I buy red meat anyway. I pretty much only buy chicken and salmon, and salmon only when it’s on sale. Otherwise I get trout from my in-laws too. And eggs. I’m spoiled.

  2. Haha oh meat from the farm is the absolute best! My hsuband’s grandparents live on a farm and send us their ground beef. It has almost no fat when I cook it! When I cook ground beef from the store…ugh…it’s just NOT the same. Wish I could have tried your beef stew! Yumm!!

  3. E says:

    My uncle is a farmer/rancher, and the beef from his grass fed cows is pretty much the best. It makes it so hard to buy beef in the grocery store.

  4. Caleb says:

    To what, pray tell, am I averting my eyes in this post?

  5. when i was in school i had a meat class and we had to watch a pig go from alive to sausage – and all the steps in between. it was one of the coolest things i’ve ever seen, but definitely makes me want to eat the highest grade meat possible!

    • Carrie says:

      Ugh, that would be really gross. I rarely buy pork, now all I can picture is a little piggy going through a grinder. Would never stop me from buying it though. 🙂

  6. Gooseberried says:

    Ugh, still something I would not want to see. Bleh!

  7. Kim Calvi says:

    I love this, the epitome of the “Barr Family Farm Life.” I think that I, too, could have done without the picture;)

  8. Monica says:

    I say if you’re going to eat meat, you might as well know where it came from… and how it got to your plate. Bravo. I bet it tasted better for it. =)

  9. Kris says:

    Hmmm I haven’t had red meat in years and I was never really a fan to begin with, but I did like a good stew at the time 🙂

    Poor moomoo 😦

    xxoo

Share your Reply

