Salt and….no, just Salt

Murray River Flake Salt, how I love thee.

A coworker recently introduced me to this salt. It has the most beautiful shape and it just melts onto whatever it touches, really fun to use.

I went to World Spice Merchants in Pike Place Market on my way home to find it, along with a few other salts and spices. I’m kind of on a fancy salt kick, I wish they had more though. It’s kind of a small place.

I bought an ounce or two of each of these: Utah Basin Salt, Murray River Flake Salt, Alderwood Smoked Salt, Caribbean Curry, and Cinnamon (which I can’t remember if it’s Vietnamese or Indonesian). It’s such a fun little place.

You enter the shop, and you pick up a little clipboard with a pad of paper on it. You write down what you want and how much as you wander around opening jars and smelling spices and teas. Each jar has 1 ounce of the product in it so you can see how much an ounce is. The only thing I don’t like is that it’s cash only, pity. But I never spend much here, I believe the Utah Basin Salt was only $1.50 per ounce, quite a few are pretty cheap.

Things I want to try there: their candied ginger in molasses cookies and their beet powder in…something. The beet powder is this vibrant fuchsia color, an excellent natural dye.

I also discovered that my Fred Meyer’s has a little variety of salts. The other day I picked up a little carton of coarse Bolivian Rose. My husband really likes it.

Who knew that salts could add such a variety of flavors?

6 thoughts on “Salt and….no, just Salt

  1. pks says:

    I’m not one to drop an OMG lightly. I mean, I’m hardly a 13 year-old-girl, after all. But OMG. That flake salt looks amazing. And, the idea of getting to make a list AND smell good things??? Plus, who doesn’t love tiny jars??? It’s like a little piece of perfection.

    • Carrie says:

      It’s really awesome. I mean, it’s still just salt. But it’s way different than table salt. I don’t use table salt anymore except for baking, even then…not so much. It’s a pretty fun place, the spice shop. 🙂

  2. Laura Wynn says:

    I LOVE salt!! Sea Salt is my favorite so far, and this place looks amazing!! The pictures are straight up gorgeous. Thanks for visiting the blog today 🙂

  3. Monica says:

    I am a salt fiend, but have so far limited by fancy salt purchasing to Maldon sea salt. Must rectify that. Smoked salt? Genius.

  4. Kristen says:

    mmmm… salt.

    A little goes a long way, but I’d rather have a little than none at all! 🙂

  5. Kimmi says:

    I love love love stuff like this! I’m always saying how I can’t wait to have a house to fill with spices and various foods so I can experiment with cooking! 🙂 so neat! And I had never heard of this place. Thanks for sharing!

Share your Reply

