Simplified + Healthified Pumpkin Mousse

First, I cut myself. Then I cut myself again, on two fingers. Then I burned myself.

It’s sufficient to say that I’m out of band aids and the aloe vera is within arm’s reach. The kitchen is definitely on my naughty list right now.

To nurse me back to health and to satisfy my pumpkin craving (because we all are craving pumpkin right now), I googled “easy pumpkin desserts”.

And behold the baby of that foretelling search…

Pumpkin Mousse

So easy. And what you can’t tell in this photo is that the spoon is actually a little baby spoon. Portion control. 😉

And no, that’s not the healthified version.

But first, let me tell you about the first run.

Pumpkin Mousse

4 servings

Adapted from Taste of Home

1.5 cups cold milk

1 package instant pudding (butterscotch, white chocolate,  vanilla, or cheesecake are recommended)

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

2-3 teaspoons pumpkin or apple spice

1/4 teaspoon allspice

1/4 teaspoon ginger

1 cup whipped topping

1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum (optional)

1. Whisk pudding mix, milk, and xanthan gum (it just makes it a little thicker) in bowl for 2 minutes. Let stand until it’s a soft serve consistency.

2. Combine the spices and pumpkin in a small bowl, fold into the pudding. It’s ok that it isn’t completely mixed together, we like it this way.

3. Fold in whipped topping, gently. This is what makes it fluffy. That’s why we eat mousse. Sprinkle crushed graham cracker on top. You can also save some of the whipped topping and garnish your bowl with it if you’re feeling fancy.

Options:  Mix in a little almond, butterscotch, or vanilla extract. Use gingersnaps instead of graham crackers.

And now for the healthified version! This one is more personal sized.

Healthy Pumpkin Mousse (Sort of)

1-2 servings

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1/4-1/2 cup greek yogurt

1-3 teaspoons pumpkin or apple pie spice (to taste)

A little sweetener of choice (to taste)

1. Mix everything together, not too much as you want to maintain the thick texture.

Honestly I’m not that thrilled with the healthy version, but then again I’m not a huge fan of greek yogurt. So maybe you’ll like it better? I do like the first recipe though, definitely yummy and I’m sure you could adapt it further to your taste. The first one really tastes like pumpkin pie. I’m thinking about freezing some for a more frozen custard sort of dessert.

2 thoughts on “Simplified + Healthified Pumpkin Mousse

  1. Sounds absolutely amazing!

  2. Kim Calvi says:

    Fall, Fall, Fall, bring on all your Autumnal yumminess! All things pumpkin make happy.

Share your Reply

