The Upswing, and Pulled Pork

On Saturday I made pulled pork for the first time. I very rarely buy pork, but pork shoulder was on sale for .99/lb. at QFC so it seemed like as good a time as any.

I didn’t do anything fancy. I cooked the whole 4-5 pound shoulder in root beer, dried onions, and BBQ sauce in a slow cooker for 4 hours or so.  Shredded it, and ate it on buns with mayonnaise.

But in between the cooking and the eating we were invited to my parent’s house for dinner as my other siblings were in town. So I just brought the whole pot o’pork and we ate it with a side of corn on the cob, tomatoes, and zucchini from my mom’s garden.

Next time: I will add a few more condiments, like onion jam or pickles. And toast the buns. I would also like to try cooking the pork in coffee. All in all, it was a super easy dinner (cheap too) with lots of leftovers–even after a big family dinner.

The upswing?

That’s what tonight is. Gearing up for a crazy week/month at work. So the upswing in this case is not altogether positive. It’s more of an upswing in work hours and a downswing in non-work hours. (But to be honest, I’m not entirely dreading it. I get an awful lot done when it’s a packed week at work. Feels good.) And since it’s going to be so busy, I figure I should do some menu planning and pretend that I’m super organized. You’d think I would be, with all of my lists. But I’m not. Surprise, surprise.

I don’t do menu planning in the traditional sense, I just make a list of 5-6 dinners to choose from. I like to have that flexibility.

~

Menu Options

Pad Thai

Dill-Seasoned Salmon with Lemon Slices

Broiled Salmon with Mustard Glaze (salmon was on sale this week)

Grilled Cheese (in case I get super lazy)

Steak (from the cow)

Slow Cooker Chili

Side Dish Options:

Spinach Salad

Fried Zucchini (got lots from mom’s garden, zucchini bread in the works)

Crookneck Squash (also from mom)

Bisquits

Poached Egg on Toast

Steamed Corn and Green Beans with Butter

~

I’m also scheduled to go out for Korean All-You-Can-Eat BBQ sometime this week with my brother-in-law and new sister-in-law, AND my older brother is going to be in town doing touristy things with a friend, so I might be going out with him. I may only have to make dinner a couple times this week. Perfect.

One thought on “The Upswing, and Pulled Pork

  1. A big difference between Propane grills and Charcoal grills is hotly debated by folks that love steaks over a grill. To boost the barbeque wars you’ll find set out the advantages and disadvantages of an gas grill verse a charcoal grill. Both can provide barbeque flavor but some swear that charcoal grilling is superior when considering the flavor test.

Share your Reply

