I Hate Laundry

It’s not so much the putting it through the washer and dryer, it’s the putting away part. I confess, I hate it. And I put it off as long as possible.

I’ll do dishes, I’ll sweep and vacuum, I’ll clean the toilet…but putting away laundry? I’d rather go to the dentist…almost.

Here’s what typically happens: I put the clothes through our washer. The washer that the downstairs neighbors probably despise since it makes a small earthquake during its spin cycle. Then I put it through the dryer. The dryer that doesn’t have an outside vent, so it vents its steam into the apartment. It also means our apartment gets super hot and humid unless I open the balcony door and a few windows, it’s kind of ridiculous. But I can’t complain too much, at least we have a washer/dryer in our apartment.

[picappgallerysingle id=”7626005″]

Subsequent to the washing and drying procedure, the clothes get dumped out into a laundry basket. And they sit in that laundry basket next to our closet until I happen to hang it all up. Sometimes taking more than a day or two. I do however hang up the clothes that are easily wrinkled. I just hate how long it takes and how much of it there is to put away.

I feel like I’m always doing laundry (and it’s only for 2 people!). That can partly be explained by the size of our washer and dryer, and the fact that they both can’t be running at once. Meaning that 2 loads in a normal size washer are 4-6 in my tiny washer. And the dryer is even smaller. You would hate this too.

If anyone has any tips on how to A) make it more fun or B) make it easier, I’m all ears.

One thought on “I Hate Laundry

  1. kalin says:

    putting away laundry is my least favorite chore.

    i mostly pout until my husband does it.
    when i do it, i sort out things into piles (tank tops, socks, workout clothes, etc) and then i can put all the tank tops in their drawer at once, all the socks in their drawer at once, hang up all the shirts at once, etc. it feels faster to me.

Share your Reply

