Abdul the Spider

The guard spider. The Halloween decoration. Abdul the Spider.

He was a good sized garden spider, with a positively huge web that extended from our roof to the railing in front of our apartment door. I’d show you a picture, but A) I don’t like pictures of spiders and B) he’s gone.

His web is there, but no Abdul. He’s been missing since Sunday. I have no hope now. Who will protect us from the transient winged insects by our front door?

Though if I find Abdul in the house, he’ll be greeted by glee, then screaming, then squishedness.

He’s my friend outside (sometimes), but enemy inside.

Maybe he just wanted a new web, or new feeding grounds? Did I offend him?

At any rate, Abdul is gone. I must mourn our loss. Maybe another spider will take his place?

P.S. What do you do with balcony garden plants at the end of the season?

UPDATE: I found Abdul! When we came home last night, we was hiding up in the porch light. I hope he fixes his web and returns for good. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Abdul the Spider

  1. Sophia Lee says:

    This is the first post I’ve ever read….all dedicated to a spider named Abdul. Why is he named that, I wonder? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Alyssa says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and I’m glad Abdul came home.

  3. pks says:

    Love it. Though I won’t lie. I prefer spiders at a very great distance… But perhaps a friendly name would warm me up to having my own personal guard spider?

Share your Reply

