Sky City at the Space Needle

Last week was Caleb’s birthday. The big quarter century mark. I made it a big deal.

We went to B&O Espresso last Saturday with a Groupon for port and dessert (a mighty fine idea), went to a movie, and all sorts of fun things. Yesterday we went to brunch at the Sky City restaurant on the top of the Space Needle.

You see, Caleb has lived in Seattle for years and years and has never been. Well, there’s some debate about a field trip or something way back when. Doesn’t count. I had been up once before, my aunt took my mom and I up for lunch for my 16th birthday. 17th? 18th? I don’t remember, but it was right in there.

So I received a coupon for a complimentary entree at Sky City that was only good through the 31st (I think you get one if you sign up for their Celebration Club for your birthday). Brunch was a prix fixe menu of $45 and they allowed you to use the coupon for that, so we got 2 brunches and 2 viewing deck tickets for $45. Not a bad deal considering view deck tickets are to the tune of $18. Which is ridiculous by the way. I forbid  you from ever doing that. The view is not worth $18, just go to the water tower by Volunteer Park for free.

Anyway. We basically had a lovely 3 course brunch for $9+tip (excluding elevator tickets). Score!

I also chose brunch because it is the most highly reviewed. Dinner looks way too overpriced and I have only heard bad things. I was actually pretty nervous about brunch being tasty, but it turned out quite well. I wouldn’t pay full price for it though.

So we rode up in the glass elevator, a beautiful 41 second ride on an overcast but otherwise beautiful day in Seattle.

View

We were seated promptly on the window ring (there’s an inner ring of tables too, window side is better of course) on the revolving circle. If you didn’t know, Sky City rotates around the center of the Space Needle once every 47 minutes. So you get to slowly turn and see the whole city about twice during a meal. The viewing deck doesn’t turn.

We started our meal with bread (zucchini, banana, wheat) and two butters (one herbed, one salted). It was pretty standard, but good.

Caleb’s appetizer was clam chowder.

Clam Chowder

I had the fruit parfait with granola and honey greek yogurt.

Parfait

Both were pretty tasty and elegantly presented.

Our server was great the whole time (except for the period of time where he mysteriously disappeared). He wasn’t bothersome, always checked in a few minutes after every course was delivered. He asked, “Are you still enjoying the parfait?” instead of, “Are you still working on that?” The sign of a fine restaurant, to be sure.

Caleb’s entree was the Wild Gulf Prawn Omelette with rosemary potatoes. The omelette had the right texture and the potatoes were crispy on the outside and addicting.

Prawn Omelette

I had the Hazelnut Crusted French Toast, which came with bacon and sausage. It was divine. The french toast came with a huge dollop of espresso-scented Devonshire cream and cognac macerated berries. It was more like dessert.

French Toast

Really, it was scrumptious.

And then came dessert, oh boy. I didn’t finish any of my dishes, so much food!

Caleb had the Tiramisu, which was pretty good. Not the best tiramisu ever though. I just thought it was cool to have dessert at brunch. You can ignore the first bite that was taken out of each dessert, we were a little eager.

Tiramisu

That’s not ice cream on the top by the way, I believe it was either Devonshire or whipped cream.

I had the Huckleberry Cheesecake with pecan praline and raspberry coulis. It was taller than I expected, but refreshing after the heavier entree I ate. The raspberry coulis tasted exactly like it should, like real raspberries. Not too sweet either.

Huckleberry Cheesecake

Post-dessert we raced up to the viewing deck (though it’s not as exciting as it could be after being awash with views during brunch), then took the elevator back down. Our car was parked in a free 2 hour parking spot, which wasn’t quite enough time. But we didn’t arrive to a ticket on the windshield, so it was a win after all.

We had a great time, but we won’t be doing it again anytime soon. We were both pleased with the meal and the service (for the most part), and it was a classy way to celebrate Caleb’s birthday. Happy birthday husband. 🙂

SkyCity Restaurant

5 thoughts on “Sky City at the Space Needle

  1. Hannah says:

    I’ve always thought their dinner was overrated, but have never tried brunch. Your french toast has convinced me to give it a try!

  2. kalin says:

    oh man I had brunch on the space needle years ago! i’d forgotten about how the restaurant spins
    happy birthday to your husband!

  3. E says:

    That french toast looks amazing!

  4. kotomi says:

    You sold me on that french toast. There’s a restaurant across the street from my place that serves the best almond crusted french toasts, but this one looks even BETTER! great pictures too!

  5. when i go to seattle, i am going to that restaurant and ordering exactly that! YUMMMMMM!!
    (and i love that i’m not the only person who takes pics of my food in restaurants!)

Share your Reply

