A Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Had a bad Friday night because of a family death. Woke up really late Saturday and went to a training appointment (got it for free, wa-hoo!) at the gym. The trainer told me last week to warm up and they would find me upstairs, never happened. They forgot that they told me to wait upstairs so I was marked as a no-show and had to reschedule to a really inconvenient time. Sad that I didn’t get to do my appointment today, I was looking forward to it. Endorphins, I need them. I worked out a little any way, but my heart wasn’t in it.

Headed to a new-to-me coffee shop in hopes of getting something done, which is what I’m doing now. Except I inadvertently chose the snootiest cafe in the neighborhood who happens to not have working internet (currently using some random 2-bar wireless that’s coming from somewhere down the block). I always get really irritated at baristas who are holier-than-thou. Their job is take my order, make me my drink, and take my money. No need to make unnecessary remarks to make yourself seem very important and knowledgeable. Maybe you have a Ph.d. and work in an underground lab on your off hours. That’s awesome, I encourage it. But I just want my coffee, case closed.

On that note, it’s just sad how the service industry can get away with being so rude and still expect tips. There is no way I could be as rude as so many waitresses are to clients in my line of work. And I don’t even get tips. Yes, I do recognize that tips can make up a good portion of one’s salary. But if you’re rude to me, I’m not leaving a tip. If you do your job or better, I will leave a respectable tip. I also tip on the basis of how much I like a place, I will always tip at a place I’m a regular. Washington has the highest minimum wage anyway, pushing $9/hr now. I’ve been in the service industry before by the way, and I wasn’t even allowed tips (it was Jack in the Box ok!) My husband has also been a waiter (at a place that was the polar opposite of Jack in the Box) that wasn’t allowed tips. Bottom line, waitresses/baristas/etc. should just do their job without the attitude. I understand when a customer is being difficult, but when you’re just being rude for the heck of it–not cool.

Anyway, it’s been a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day thus far. The rest of the weekend isn’t really looking up since Halloween isn’t my thing and the apartment needs organized. And it gets really poor ventilation in the winter so all our windows have constant condensation that I have to figure out how to get rid of every day before it gets moldy. Plus I have to deal with insurance companies (yes, multiple) today. Not to mention my to-do list is the length of arm. Half my arm. Ok it’s a post-it, but my handwriting is small.

I’m going to go crawl under a rock. Regularly scheduled happiness will return another day. Have a great weekend guys! Make up for my crappy day!

8 thoughts on “A Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

  1. Kimmi says:

    Oh man! I hate snooty coffee shops! Lets hope next week is way better! 🙂

  2. E says:

    Sorry your day is so crappy! I hope you get to relax some.

  3. Kim Calvi says:

    Praying the Lord’s refreshings for you. I’m so sorry about the death in your family. BTW, I’m right there with you on the window thing, YUCK!:(

  4. 😦 rude coffee people are the worst. I mean, I know their job sucks and I can’t imagine how many yell at them early in the morning before they have had their coffee, but really I feel like it is a job requirement for baristas to have a sunny disposition. A barista in Italy actually told me this when I was interviewing her for a class project. I asked her if any special skills were necessary, she said yes – you have to be charming. Just like it is a job requirement for bartenders to be good listeners.

  5. Aunt Lex says:

    Don’t get me started! On Friday we went to The Essential Baking Company down on 1st Avenue. All they have to do is dump the salad on a plate (all the salads and sandwiches are made up and in the cooler, ready for take-out). My salad and drink were $10.00. I gave them a $1 tip. It took them longer to serve that salad than it does regular places that have to put them together, and then they forgot my bread! I went back to ask for the break, and jokingly mentioned the tip and slow service. I was nearly done with my salad by the time the bread came, they had warmed it up, but it was nearly cold.
    Sorry to sound off like that.
    My prayers are with you and the family.

  6. Gooseberried says:

    Gosh, that sounds like a series of unfortunate events, but I like the way you worded it better. I’m sorry about your bad day. I hope, already, things are turning around for you.

  7. Delishhh says:

    Sorry for the crappy weekend. Hope things are better now.

  8. Katherine M says:

    Carrie – have you gone to “The Bustle” on Queen Anne? I think it is the BEST coffee shop in all of Seattle… and after a time or two there, they ALWAYS remember your drink. I’ve been having some family health issues lately and I know their lattes (and a nice convo with the barista’s) always make me feel better!

Share your Reply

