How Not to Get a Cold

1. Consume obscene amounts of Emergen-C, Airborne, and zinc tablets.

2. Wash your hands obsessively, after every time you touch something other than within your house or your desk at the very least. I was my hands every time I touch something other than my desk at work. (And hand sanitizer is not the same.)

3. Sleep. And sleep some more.

4. Limit alcohol intake, though a little rum in your lemon tea wouldn’t hurt anything. See below.

5. Remove yourself from situations with extreme germ explosions, such as someone who won’t stop coughing/sneezing. Or small children touching your face.

6. Repeat steps 1-5 for the duration of eternity.

And that, my friends, is how I have avoided getting the plague thus far in the season. Which isn’t too shabby, considering I know several people who are on their second head cold of the season.

When I do start to feel a little yuck or have a tickle in my throat, I guzzle Emergen-C and vitamin D drops. I also highly believe in gargling with mouthwash to kill germs in the back of the throat. Drinking hot beverages also helps, not sure how valid those efforts are, but it seems to help.

When my throat feels especially foreboding, I drink this mixture below as hot as I can take it. Honey has antibacterial properties, the rum is for numbing the pain, and the apple cider vinegar is just for its awesome cold-fighting abilities. Really, apple cider vinegar works miracles.  Die Germs! Die!

Cold Be Gone Tea

1 mint or lemon tea bag

1-2 tablespoon honey

A shot or less of rum

1 tablespoon of apple cider vineger (optional)

1. Steep the tea for 5 minutes in very hot water. Sometimes I use two tea bags for extra strong tea.

2. Mix in the last 2-3 ingredients.

3. Sip until gone.

🙂

Follow it up with an Airborne chaser.

* This post has no affiliation with the  Emergen-C or Airborne companies. I just really, really like their products.

4 thoughts on “How Not to Get a Cold

  1. E says:

    I also find that getting a decent amount of sleep is pretty key. Even if I take care of myself otherwise, but go a night or three without enough sleep, I won’t be able to stop a cold from happening, assuming I’m on the edge of getting sleep.

  2. Gooseberried says:

    And now that you wrote this, you’re bound to get a cold. How would that be for irony? 🙂

  3. Tina says:

    I haven’t had a cold yet either! And I work at a food bank with a ton of people coming through all the time. I can’t believe it. I thank multivitamins and Emergen-C and exercise. And immune booster tea. And running out to buy zinc/vitamin c lozenges if I feel like there might be a bug trying to invade my body.

    Good luck staying cold free for the rest of the season!

  4. this is perfect! I woke up with a stuffy head, nose and sore throat yesterday morning- thanks for the tea suggestion!

Share your Reply

