Gai Pad Krapow

Husband likes Thai food. Really, really. I still remember my first time in a Thai restaurant in Seattle for his birthday, Thai-ger Room.

I thought I didn’t like Thai food. I thought all Thai food was spicy and conspiring against my weak taste buds. But husband-to-be told me about the 5-star system.

It’s a great way for ethnic restaurants to weaken the spicy level in traditional Thai dishes to suit our weak American palates. I almost always order 1 star, with the occasional 2 star depending on the restaurant. It’s taken me nearly 3 years to build up to another star. I’m not sure if 3 stars will ever happen. Anyway, I learned that Thai food is amazing.

Since I’ve known Caleb, I’ve learned from him or taught myself how to make Swimming Rama, Pad Thai, Satay, Pad See Ew, and Gai Pad Krapow.

Gai Pad Krapow is the latest edition to my Thai repertoire. It’s very easy, simple, and pretty tasty. It’s basically just peppers, ground chicken, shallots, fish/soy sauce, sugar, and Thai basil. I looked up a few recipes and created my own recipe. More like guidelines. Sort of.

What Gai Pad Krapow would look like if I prepared it with ground chicken. Source: avlxyz

Gai Pad Krapow (Non-Traditional)

Adapted from Gimme Some Oven and Serious Eats

1 lb. chicken breast, chopped into small bite-sized chunks (not a fan of ground chicken)

2-3 T. oil

3-5 cloves garlic, finely chopped

2 serrano peppers, deseeded and minced (more to taste, this was about perfect for my weak tolerance) (the proper pepper is bird’s eye, couldn’t find any though)

1-2 shallots

10-12 oz.  broccolini or green beans, cut into 1-inch sections (I don’t believe the traditional recipe has veggies, not sure)

1 tsp soy sauce (I used thick, sweet soy sauce)

1-2 T fish sauce

1 T brown sugar (or palm sugar if you grate it off)

Pepper

1 egg

1 bunch Thai basil, no stems

1 lime

Green onions, for garnish

Tip: Make sure all ingredients are ready as Thai cooking goes quickly.

  1. Heat wok or large frying pan on Med-High, add oil (I used sunflower), peppers, and garlic for about 30 seconds.
  2. Add shallots and stir for another 30 seconds or so.
  3. Add chicken, continue to move ingredients around and increase heat to High (if oil is smoking, turn it down).
  4. After chicken is mostly cooked, add veggie of choice. Stir fry for 2 minutes or so.
  5. Stir in the soy sauce, fish sauce, and brown sugar. Then add a few dashes of pepper (go easy!)
  6. Move ingredients to one side, break egg in and quickly incorporate it till cooked. At this point, make sure there is little liquid in the bottom of the wok, you don’t want soggy Thai food.
  7. Remove from heat and stir in Thai basil leaves, let wilt slightly.
  8. Serve over rice or alone, squeeze lime halves over servings. I also like to snip some green onion bits on top.

Or: Skip adding the egg and serve the meal instead over rice topped with a 6 minute egg.

2 thoughts on “Gai Pad Krapow

  1. Delishhh says:

    Oh great recipe. You know in Thailand they will put sugar in the dishes to make them less spicy for foreigners and i hate that. So i always say “Thai spicy” i love thai food but here they don’t make it as spicy because yes, people can’t handle it 🙂 But this recipe looks great. When is the next meetup?

    • Carrie says:

      Oh I didn’t know they added more sugar to make it less spicy! I did know that they didn’t add as much spice for foreigners. My husband really loves spicy food, he almost never gets it as spicy as he likes here. I’ll send out the invite for the next meet-up soon!

Share your Reply

