I Outdid Myself

It was a really long day. Got up early to go to the aerial dance studio, trained for about an hour and a half. Particularly practicing my double foot locks and scissor hip locks. Noticed all the ‘locks’? Yeah, that’s how we aerialists stay secure in the air, via locks. If you don’t get them right, you will never progress.

After I was done practicing, I walked out of the aerial room (a studio room with really high ceilings), got my stuff together, and walked downstairs to the smaller studio area where we warm-up. There, in the middle of the room, was a dog. The lights were off, no one was around. But there was a dog, sitting and smiling at me.

I paused, then walked towards him. He walked over and I gave him a pat (he was the cleanest, softest, thick furred golden retriever ever). Then I figured out that the owner was in the bathroom, ah-ha. For a second there I thought he unlocked the front door and came in by himself. He looked smart enough.

So after wearing my poor arms out at the studio, I ran some errands and cleaned and scrubbed the apartment. Again, my poor arms.

Then I went to the grocery store and stocked up on all matter of vegetables, frozen fruit, chicken, etc. I made a little stop to get some bulk spices too–paprika, thyme (I was out of thyme, ha, get it?), dry mustard and fennel for this recipe, and cumin. Bought too much to carry home comfortably, but husband was out with the car. So I had to drag myself home via the bus with my weight in groceries. Needless to say again, my poor arms.

Did I mention I had nary a bit to eat since this morning? Yup.

Got home and was absolutely ravenous. I bought some chicken drumsticks and pre-washed romaine mix at the store with a quick dinner in mind.

Threw everything together, did the dishes, and flopped over sideways and became one with the couch.

Then dinner came out of the oven. Oh my word the scent was intoxicating. The drumsticks were perfectly blackened browned and moist, with bits of garlic and serrano peppers still stuck all over them. You couldn’t get me to eat them faster.

They say that hunger is the best sauce, but these drumsticks really were all that and a pretty pink pony.

Notice the use of the past tense, those drumsticks are long gone. I sucked the bones clean.

You too can take part in this joy, with only 10 minutes of prep. Thank me later.

Hoisin Drumsticks

(Adapted from Tiny Test Kitchen)

3 cloves of garlic

3 Serrano peppers*

3 T Hoisin sauce

2 T soy sauce

2 T honey

2 t oil (I used coconut oil, sesame would be ideal)

6-7 drumsticks

Green onions

1. Heat oven to 425F. Peel and mince garlic. De-seed (unless you like the heat) and dice the Serrano peppers. Put it all in a small bowl, big enough to fit a drumstick.

2. In the same bowl, mix in the Hoisin sauce, soy sauce, honey, oil, and cayenne. Reserve 1/3rd of the sauce in another small dish.

3. Line a baking sheet with foil and oil well. Dip and roll the drumsticks in the marinade until thoroughly covered, place on the baking sheet skin side up (not touching each other).

4. Bake for 15 minutes. Flip with tongs and pour the rest of the marinade over the drumsticks. Bake for another 15-20 minutes, or until browned and the skin has some blackened bits. Remove from oven and serve with a  little sliced green onion (the green part). I just take a pair of kitchen shears and snip some over the meat.

Serve with a simple green salad.

* Use a hotter pepper or dried chili flakes for a stronger kick.

**No pictures. There will probably be few food pictures until the sun is still up when I make dinner. If anyone has tips, I’m all ears.

Share your Reply

