Über Bier

I’m a beer snob.

Really, I turn my nose up at beers rated less than 90 on Rate Beer.

If my palate is going to endure beer, it has to be the best. My husband put effort into training my taste buds. He’s always enjoyed beer, like I’ve said before. And he developed a more advanced taste over the years, meaning he’s a lot more picky in the beer aisle. It’s for the taste, not the alcohol.

Beer connoisseurs really don’t get all the good publicity that wine connoisseurs get. People think all beer is Miller Light. I’m proud to say I’ve never had Miller Light. Or Budweiser. Or any of the above. Not my style by a long shot.

I do like wine, and I also enjoy beer. But again, I am very particular about my beer if I am going to drink it.

Right around New Year’s, our favorite specialty beer tavern (Uber) was putting some amazing brews on tap.

Husband and I decided to go and get a flight of samplers, 4 oz. a glass. The best, and cheapest way, to try all the fancy draughts.

Lo and behold, we scored big.

Six 97+ rated beers. Including two 100s and two 99s. This is good stuff, really good.

Pardon the phone photography.

Our bounty included the following, in order of my most favorite to least:

Comments: J.W. Lee’s is good stuff. Really good. Too good. I know that I said Oskar Blues Ten Fidy had my heart, but J.W. Lee’s Harvest Ale wins my heart. It doesn’t even taste like beer, it’s almost syrupy–and smells like apricot, honey, wood, and flowers. No hops.  It practically has the alcohol content of wine, and is sold in 4oz or 8oz servings, and is pretty expensive for beer. $4.50 for a 4 oz. glass, pretty spendy. But it’s rare (only on tap once a year around here), and very difficult for specialty taverns to get a cask of outside of Europe.

Comments: Oskar Blues Ten Fidy. My other love. It has a 1-point higher rating than J.W. Lee’s, and a better price point. It’s my favorite grocery store beer, and I speak of my love for it here.

Comments: I actually don’t remember what I liked about this one. I couldn’t even tell you what color it was. But I do know that I liked it.

Comments: This is where it starts to go downhill. Which is saying a lot for a beer with a score of 100. Husband really liked this one, really, really. He’s a big fan of Imperial IPA’s. Me? Notsomuch. Hops and I aren’t that close of friends. Which is why I like beers like J.W. Lee’s and Oskar Blues–practically no hop taste, if at all.

Comments: The flagship beer of New Year’s at Uber. They really sold this one. I believe they had the only kegs outside of the brewery, they had the 2009 and 2010 (we got both). There was a slight difference between the two vintages, noticeable. Just not my thing, I don’t like sour beers. Especially sour, fruity beers. Blech. Definitely least favorite. Like I said, I’m a beer snob now.

There you have it, the night of the epic flight of beers. By the way, we split the flight. With all of these beers at ABV 9.4% or higher, they pack quite the punch for 4 oz.

2 thoughts on “Über Bier

  1. Stevie says:

    I absolutely LOVE good beer. I don’t think I’m quite the connoisseur that you are, but I love tasting well crafted beers. I do, however, ALSO enjoy a Miller Lite. I really don’t like Budweiser or Bud Light, but Miller Lite and Coors Light are actually quite refreshing and tasty. 😉

  2. Delishhh says:

    I LOVE beer. But i like the basic simple stuff. So you are way over my head when it comes to beer. I just like a good pilner can’t have any of the ale stuff.

Share your Reply

