Stranded

So I’ve been reading about the snow all over the rest of the country. People stuck in their cars for 18 hours. No power. Stories of all kinds. I don’t want to make little of it, because it is/was scary for people who were thrust into less-than-ideal situations, especially those who were stranded in vehicles. I read quite a few articles about people stuck overnight on Chicago’s Lake Shore Drive and being cold, hungry, etc.

Image by the extinction blues

To those people who were stuck: whywhywhywhy do you not have a survival kit in your car? Especially when you had plenty of warning that this storm was coming. It’s so easy. At the very least keep a blanket, jug of water, and a box of granola bars in the car. Do it. Do it now.

I keep my survival kit that I was forced to buy when I moved into the dorms in college. There’s all the typical items in there: water pouches, food bars, blankets, human waste bags (you have to pee somewhere!), light sticks, first aid kid, dust mask, and a whistle. It’s all packaged in an equally useful bright red backpack for visibility. It gets tossed into every car my husband and I have owned. Easy.

Why don’t you have one?

Other useful items to keep in cars: car phone charger, flashlight, small pillow, matches, blank paper, rain ponchos, battery powered radio, necessary medication (remember to replace if it expires), baby wipes, extra set of car keys, duct tape, pocket knife, clothing, handheld fan, and items for entertainment.

Image by Mabagal

I’m not one to excessively worry about disaster, but they are a reality. In the PNW we have earthquakes, volcanoes, floods, and snowy mountain passes. Some people did end up stranded in the little snow storm we had right before Thanksgiving. As small as it was, it still was rather disastrous for unsuspecting drivers. As unlikely as it is for you to ever be stranded in your car, this is such a painfully easy thing to do that you would be stupid not to do it.

P.S. The one thing I’m not sure of, is what do you do if you’re stranded on a bus?

4 thoughts on “Stranded

  1. Linda says:

    I carry extra supplies in my backpack so if I were to be stranded on the bus I would have a snack, something to read, and a small first aid kit.

  2. debbie says:

    If I know there is any risk of bad weather, I make sure I have more than enough supplies. But I do love your backpack that is always in there. I need to make one of those for myself and each of my kids.

  3. Tara says:

    I was just watching the news this morning, and they were talking about the people stranded in traffic for 9 hours on Lake Shore Drive.

    Isn’t it sad that the same thing happens here in the Pacific Northwest with only two inches of snow? We’re such a bunch of cold weather wimps.

    Or maybe that’s just Seattle…hmmm.

  4. Kim says:

    I’m from England so we hardly ever get weather like you guys but even when we get the smallest amount of snow it seems that someone somewhere has managed to get stuck in their car. I have supplies in my boot but it’s mainly for if i ever break down. However, reading this has made me want to write a list of things i should buy to keep in my car just in case haha!

Share your Reply

