Teatro ZinZanni

{Deal at the bottom}

At work, we do some pro-bono work for Teatro ZinZanni (which is a non-profit arts organization) in Seattle Center. In return, they generously graced the company with free tickets to a Wednesday night show.

Teatro ZinZanni, for those who aren’t familiar, is a 3-hour cirque show with a 5-course dinner. It’s pretty fabulous. I’ve always wanted to go, but never wanted to cough up the money. Thus, I was really excited about the show. So were the rest of my coworkers.

The circus tent is actually fairly intimate, not as big as I pictured it to be, which is great. There are 3 circles of tables around the center ring. Coming to the show, I really wasn’t sure what to expect. It far exceeded my expectations, in both humor, talent, and plot. All of the acts were amazing.

We held our breath as the Israeli juggler, Bernard Hazens (who happens to train at my aerial studio), balanced high on various rolling objects and juggled. We laughed at the comedian, Joe De Paul, and oohed at Danielle Rueda-Watts’ performance, a Cirque du Soliel aerialist. Manuela Horn, the “Austrian Amazon” was 6’2” and entertained us with her various characters. She shot up to 7′ with her tottering platform heels. Juliana Rambaldi and Duffy Bishop had amazing voices, I don’t think I expected that quality. Mat Plendl, who had a stage manager character in the show, surprised us with a mad hula-hooping act. Really, mad. We also played Zingo!

But my favorite act was Die Maiers. Oh they’re fabulous. They are trapeze artists, with such a great routine. But what is really awesome about them are their characters throughout the show, particularly Mrs. Maier. I won’t spoil it for you in case you go to this particular show (Radio Free Starlight), but it will crack you up.

I will emphasize that it isn’t for children. Really. It’s not anything too shocking, but it’s a PG-13 show. They do have a show for children right now, called Zirkus Fantasmo, playing through May 1st.

I don’t have any photos, as no photos are allowed in the tent. It’s also difficult to come across photos for use online, but you can view images of the cast on the website here.

When you think about it, the price isn’t too much for a special occasion. It isĀ dinner and a show, an awesome show.

Tip: Unless you want to possible be involved in the show, I recommend sitting on the outer edge of the inner ring or in the general admission ring, the outer edge of the inner ring are the optimal seats though, in my opinion.

You can get $25 off certain performances, details here.

9 thoughts on “Teatro ZinZanni

  1. Linda says:

    I’ve always wanted to go but just haven’t yet. How was the food? Tom Douglas still provide the meals?

    • Carrie says:

      It was pretty good, and there was a lot of it! Not quite what I expect from Tom Douglas, but still very satisfying. My favorite were the first two courses (http://dreams.zinzanni.org/menu.htm), and I wish I had gotten the fish instead of the mushroom strata. Overall the ingredients were all very good quality too.

  2. suzanne says:

    Did Joe de Paul do his King Kong? I saw it online (he since removed it) and it’s hilarious. Did he interact with the audience? I heard that the Isaeli acrobat is absolutely incredible

    • Carrie says:

      Yes, he did! It was hilarious, a highlight of the show. The Israeli acrobat was really something too, though at the show I went to he did have a small mistake. But who could care with how impressive it was what he was doing!

  3. suzanne says:

    I also saw your posts about the acrobatic classes you’re taking. Wow, you’re ambitious! And all I do is workout in our apartment’s gym!

    • Carrie says:

      Heh, since I moved to the east coast I haven’t done any aerials. It’s such a fun way to work out, I really miss it!

      • suzanne says:

        That’s too bad, but it looks really gruelling. How do you like living in Seattle? Plenty of rain, huh?

        • Carrie says:

          I don’t live there anymore, but yeah, there’s quite a bit of rain to be had. Never bothered me too much, I like green.

          • suzanne says:

            I have a friend who was brought up in Seattle and tells me how wonderful it is to walk through a wooded area after rain and smell the pine trees and she said all the rain made everything green.

Share your Reply

