Earthquake!

There was an earthquake here today, right here in my little city. Well, it was actually 100 miles south in Virginia, but close enough.

I was home, working. The exterminator had just left about 20 minutes prior, calming my fears about several gingantor centipedes I had seen in the house that apparently are normal. Yeah, right. Whatever you say Mr. Bug Man. I know an animal from the ice age when I see one.

That bugger there was the size of my index finger. Was. Not-so-sadly he is no longer with us, but departed to the bottom of the garbage bin. Gives me the heebie jeebies.

So the earthquake, it was fierce. Well, fierce for the east coast. The largest ever recorded to hit our fair nation’s capitol so I hear, a moderate 5.9 on the Richter Scale. There are rumors that the Washington Monument is now leaning, and/or has a crack in it. I’ll wait a few days to find out what’s actually the truth as no one seems to agree.

I was at home, like I said, in front of my computer. The building starts shaking, just enough for me to dismiss it as a train going by. It increases. It increases to the point of me wondering if something was happening to the building. For a second I thought it might be an earthquake, but dismissed it as I thought that Maryland just didn’t get earthquakes. I was wrong, oh so wrong.

The thought crossed my mind that a large truck must have hit the building when the windows started shaking. I picked up the Walrus kitten and thought about going outside, then the shaking stopped. Never did it occur to me that I should duck under my desk or take cover in a doorway. My West Coaster instincts must be shot already.

That was the extent of it though, fair shaking for about 20 seconds and 10 seconds of alarming shaking. That was it. Nothing shifted in the house. The only sign of their even being an earthquake was that my phone lacked service. I saw a little bit of damage in pictures online, such as a brick wall crumbling (walls around here are 200+ years old you know, unlike the West Coast where a building is old at 50). Apparently a spire fell off of the National Cathedral? Now that sounds quite unfortunate.

Anyway, that’s my 5.9 earthquake of the day. Not much compared to the Nisqually shaker of 6.8 from my childhood, now that was an earthquake.

2 thoughts on “Earthquake!

  1. Laura says:

    woah! Earthquakes are nuts. I’ve been just waiting for one here in SoCal, and you got one instead! Glad everything is ok, and that those nasty lookin’ bugs are gone!

  2. Alicia says:

    Alright, these bugs are just creepy!!!!

Share your Reply

