On Moving to Maryland

Since moving to Maryland, I’ve learned a few things. Marylanders love crabs. No wait, let me say that again. They are obsessed with crabs. There are crab-flavored chips, crab cakes at every single restaurant and cutesy crab pictures on door mats. Sure the PNW loves salmon, but it’s nothing compared to the love for crab in these parts. For the record, I like crab. Crab is great. But it’s a lot of work to crack a crab, and for so little meat. Meh. I’d rather pick bones out of my salmon than pick crab meat out of claws. Crabs also have those dead finger things that apparently are very, very bad if you eat them. Salmon > Crab.

The thing about the East Coast, or pretty much anywhere other than the East Coast is that everything is so old. Sure we have Native American artifacts and whatnot in PNW, but a building is called old there when it was built in 1901. My city on the East Coast was founded a million years ago (read as: 250 years). Of course I’d be in even more shock if I just left this country, since every other country on this planet is old as the dirt. But I digress. I like the old buildings, especially the stone ones.

Around the area are a lot of really cool old houses, though some have some unfortunate locations. Like the one below. It is on the road. House. Road. Not even a flower bed. If someone took that corner too fast, they’d end up in the  living room easy. Seems a tad disconcerting.

We also wandered up a part of the river a few miles from our neighborhood, where I was dinner for some mosquitoes. I didn’t put two and two together that for a place that has so many bugs would also have a healthy mosquito population. I’m itchy-scratchy now.

Last week we also had some flooding. My house was just fine, but tons of roads were closed and Main Street in Ellicott city turned into an actual moving river for an afternoon. The river next to our place looked like below for a few days. It was wild, logs and craziness floating by.

For reference, the river usually looks about like this (below). This is a different part of the river, but it’s the same idea.

Let’s see, that brings the natural disaster total to 3 since we’ve been here. First an earthquake, then a hurricane and now flooding. We weren’t really greatly affected by any of these, but they were fun. The last event in Seattle was the Thanksgiving snowstorm. I can’t even remember any other event before that, which is probably a good thing.

Share your Reply

