Goat Cheese – Bacon – Date – Basil Pizza

I really like making pizza. I like experimenting with different, unconventional toppings, like raspberry jam and date nugget pieces. Pizza is just one of those versatile foods that loves some creative experimenting.

The other day, during a rare May sunny week on the island, I made the best pizza yet. I’d give you the recipe, but there are no measurements for anything. I will, however, tell you all of the toppings I used.

First off, the crust. It was none other than a ball of the Pioneer Woman’s perfect pizza dough that I pulled out of the freezer the night before. This is the best pizza dough, especially aged. I made a double batch (netting me 4 balls of dough) a couple of weeks prior and stuck them in the freezer.

Secondly, the toppings. Oh the toppings. I must credit Caleb, he’s the one that was inspired to use some date nugget pieces I had. Genius, this man.

These are the ingredients, in the order I layered them on the pizza:

  • Mozzarella (lots and lots of it)
  • Lightly fried minced garlic (lots and lots of that too)
  • Chopped, pre-cooked bacon
  • Date nuggets (next time I’ll add more, this time it was just a sprinkle)
  • Goat cheese
  • Basil from my front porch
  • A light sprinkling of onion salt and oregano

500 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

Perfection.

Kudos to Caleb for taking such lovely photos of the pizza, he takes the best photos.

 

Share your Reply

